Rant on how people piss me off and a lesson in always checking your shoes before putting them on!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 1st 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Here's some ranting about how I hate people......
For those of you who don't know me and for those of you who do, I dislike people, mainly stupid people but people in general. And being here tests patience quite often!! I do tend to get angry quickly. I don't know what it is, whether people are just clueless (I highly doubt), or they think they are better than everyone else, or what. I don't know but it annoys the frig out of me. No one has boundaries, or knows about personal space, or has any regard for the right of way w.r.t walking, getting on buses, or mrt (subway). And to make matters worse, everybody walks so damn slow!!! Okay so at lunch the other day, I had my tray in the space for trays in front of the cash register, and I was paying for my food when this freggin' tall lanky dude totally pushes me aside and pays for his!! I was like "holy f*ck dude", under my breath of course but I gave him a dirty look and pushed back. He didn't seem to notice. Another time, I was walking with Yang heading toward the food centre which is by the MRT (subway) and bus interchange, so given, it's busy with people, BUT that is no excuse for two yakking aunties to totally cut right in front of me. I mean I didn't see them til I was bumping into them since they came from the side. I mean they obviously saw us walking and could have walked behind or even maybe just timed it so not to flippin' walk right in front of me!!! Well Yang I think was a little scared because he saw my face go from happy happy to evil. Hehehehe kinda funny now but at the time, not so much. Another incident: was next in line to top up my eaze-link card (for mrt) and another "auntie" or really just some older lady totally budded me!! You think just cause you are older gives you the right to go first? Another example of how people annoy me but this time on the mrt. In Singapore they have these yellow lines telling people where to stand when the train stops and arrows directing them to and from the train. Well it would seem obvious to most of us, that you wait patiently beside the open doors while the people from the train get off and once everyone is out then the people waiting enter the train. But no, it doesn't work that way. People stand right in front of the doors and when they open push their way through the mass of people trying to file out. Aiya! Piss me off. So the people can, when they feel it necessary, really boot it but the majority of the time they don't move very fast. People walk so slow and take up the whole damn sidewalk. Maybe it's just me and I get angry and frustrated too quickly. Maybe it's the West mentality of "go go go", not the "relax take things slow" type of mode which I think I am going to encounter for the rest of my travels. So I either better start getting into that mode or start dealing with my anger issues😊 But I would like to say it's not just me being a foreigner and hating people, Joanne and Kevin feel the same way.

Okay enough ranting for one blog. Here's a funny story that I kept forgetting to write about. Well, you know how in Asian countries people don't wear their shoes in the house, they leave them outside the door which is both a good and bad thing. A good reason for the cleanliness and respect for the homeowners and bad thing for the little critters that view your shoes as shelter or possibly a home. And by critters I mean cockroaches, lizards, or whatever else I've seen scurrrying around the halls. I think you know where this is going.......So one morning I went to the local grocery store and while I was contemplating which brand of soya milk to buy, I felt this little tickle on the top of my foot. I thought it was just my lace which usually moves about around in my shoe and I shook my foot a bit. A couple of seconds later it happened again and I had this sudden realization that it wasn't my damn shoe lace. A vision of a big ass cockroach squeezed between my foot and shoe tongue came to mind and I felt nauseated. So right there in front of the fridge area, I took my shoe off, and slowly peered inside...........my eyes met with twitching antennae and the biggest damn cricket I've ever seen!! Holy f*ck. However, I was pretty happy and relieved that it just wasn't a nasty cockroach. Ha cricket, I can deal with that. But now the issue was how was I going to get rid of it. I couldn't exactly put my shoe back on without squishing it. People were already starring at the white chick holding soya milk and yogurt in one hand and her shoe in the other. So as nonchalantly as I could I put the food items down and carefully slipped my foot into my shoe without putting it all the way in. I walked, albeit lopsided, to an aisle that had nobody around, took my shoe off, and as cool as I could bang it on several stacked boxes trying to dislodge the sucker from my shoe. He was pretty stubborn but after 5-6 good waks, the bugger came flying out and scittered away. I looked around to make sure nobody was watching, put my shoe back on, went back to pick up my items and continued on like everything was a-okay!! I hope the cricket didn't have a family cause he has a new home now. So now, before I put my shoes on I check them cause I do not want any more surprises like that ever again because I know next time it won't be a "cute" cricket but something nasty and that bites!!



Advertisement



8th March 2007

grrr
i HATED that about the mrt. HELLO PEOPLE the lines are there for a reason. Even when people line up in them, they push their way on before ANYONE is off just to get a seat...aaaahhh... have you seen any HUGE snails yet....uuuhh...gross.
8th March 2007

You are lucky you didn't squash the cricket with your foot and then have cricket guts stuck between your toes!
11th March 2007

Nice people
WE ARE THE ONLY NICE PPLE AROUND!!!!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb