Birds & creatures of the night


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Singapore Zoo
May 17th 2008
Published: May 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I took advantage of Singapore's very efficient public transport system (MRT and buses). The longest time that I had to wait for a train was 6 min (on a Sat). The ticket system was so easy to use, as long as you know which station that you have to reach, you're fine. There is no such thing as zones in this country. I spent most of the day at Jurong Bird Park. It is the biggest aviary in the world, with it's own monorail system. There were birds from all corners of the globe. At one point I feed the lorikeets, with some liquid feed. One of the lorikeets had a very annoying habit of flicking it's head while it was taking a sip and splattered my arm with bird feed. It was quite an experience. Another highlight was seeing the emperor penguins. Once I finished my time at Jurong Bird Park I spent some time wandering around a shopping centre in Boon Ken. My next stop was Ang Mo Kio station where I took some more time wandering around the shops ( I didn't buy anything though) before I caught the bus to the Night Safari.

The Night Safari was fantastic! I really enjoyed wandering around the paths in the dark watching all the night creatures coming out to life. The highlights were the otters and watching a leopard stalking past the large glass screen. I also managed to watch "The Creatures of the Night" show. We had to wait in a queue for ages, it was very uncomfortable because it was very crowded and so humid. We listened and watched wolves howling and otters placing empty plastic bottles and cans into the recycling bins.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.3kb