Singapore 5Sept


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Sentosa Island
September 5th 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

A Fountain on the Imbiah trail
Rest day today, or so I thought. I planned on doing nothing but read a book by the pool. I was given a free pass to use the public transport system for 3 days, so I thought I would give it a burl. On the way to the bus stop, I found a bushwalk. Now I couldnt pass that up, so headed off. After half an hour I found myself at the monorail station, hopped on to see where it went. All roads (rail in this case) lead to shopping centres. Something they do right in my opinion - empty an international tourists wallet by giving them a free pass to get to shops. Poked around for a bit then headed back on the monorail to the Beach and walked along it til i was back at the hotel.

Singapore is one of the most cleanest cities I have seen, but the beach is shocking. The weather changes almost hourly. On my first morning here, it was fine, then a thunder storm, and in 90 minutes it was fine again. Last night it blew so hard, rain was coming in under the hotel door (which is no mean feat). Then
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

Merlion - half lion half fish
today it was clear and sunny.

I sat by the pool, avoiding the sun by moving the deck chair every 30 minutes and read my book. Or so I thought. The book was getting very interesting and I must have forgotton to check the sun (which is behind cloud most of the time) which managed to sneak around and get my shoulders. It is too easy to get caught. So I have a little sunburn, but the book ended well, just before my evening out.

I booked on a Singapore by Night tour, which went like this. I was picked up from the hotel and taken to the central point of departure, put into groups and left on the bus. We went into the centre of the city and had dinner at Quayside. It was chinese, close to the worst I have had. Sat with 4 other Australians, good to compare stories. We then went to one of those 'cheap' shopping malls, overcrowded, stifling heat and was only there for 30 minutes, phew. then for the main purpose of the trip. We went to the Long Bar at Raffles for a Singapore Sling. The drink was very sweet,
SingaporeSingaporeSingapore

Poolside at Sentosa Resort
and very nice all the same. Live music, great building, a little bit of England right here in Singapore. Is the most expensive drink I have ever bought, however well worth the experience.

We had a car bring us back to the hotel door. A fairly relaxing day considering. The trip is drawing to a close. I hope you have enjoyed reading as much as I have writing to you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb