Let the Sunshine In!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Sentosa Island
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

LAXLAXLAX

Benydril and beer-makes the hives less itchy and made my sister sleep for 5 hours straight1
Hey there everyone!

Well we made it safe and sound to Singapore! Besides the 20 hour flight, all went well...well to be truthful, the trip has been great for me so far but my poor sister has had some "problems"-lost boarding pass (never found but was allowed to board last!), a hives outbreak on the plane between Calgary and L.A., then another hives outbreak here in Singapore and last but not least, all of her sunblock and lotion mysteriously gone from her luggage and let me just say...SUNBLOCK IS NOT CHEAP HERE! The cheapest bottle we found was $22 and that was for a small one! Thankfully I have some but still...

Any way...about Singapore:

Singapore is located in South East Asia at the tip of the Mayaysian Peninsula. Singaore consists of one large island with 60 smaller ones surrounding it. The main island is just over 42Km for East to West and 23km North to South so not so big!

Our first few days have entailed a lot of walking. Right now we are staying in the hotel (beautiful!) that the school is providing for us, it's located in the Orchard area which is where
SentosaSentosaSentosa

Sentosa Island
all the ex-patriots tend to hang out and live so we don't feel out of place at all being blonde and tall! The one thing that amazes both my sister and I is the amount of MALLS there are throughout Singapore! It's crazy, the malls are HUGE and there is probably one mall at least on every block! It would be a shoppers paradise if things weren't so expensive!

So some highlights:

We spent an evening walking around downtown and came across the World's Largest Water Fountain which was quite neat. It involved a laser show to music that was reflected in the fountain-very cool. The rest of the night was spent wandering and getting lost!

Yesterday we spent the day at Sentosa Island which was awesome. We had perfect weather and there's lots to do there! The island is accessible by train or gondola so we chose the gondola ride which was short but beautiful. The island itself is a tourist haven with a beautiful golfcourse, walking trails, beaches and a gorgeous four star hotel that we spent the afternoon at swimming (yes, we snuck into the pool!). After 6 hours in the sun we were
SentosaSentosaSentosa

Sentosa Island
ready to head out so we didn't see all of the island, there was so much to do that we may go back but we have a lot more to see so we may not get to it!.

Well that's about all we have been up to so far, we had to go to the International school where my sister will be teaching for a meeting and then to get her banking set up but now we are free to go and do what we want so let the fun begin!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

SentosaSentosa
Sentosa

Sentosa Letter Blocks
MerlionMerlion
Merlion

Sentosa


27th June 2007

your trip
Hey, I really liked singapore when I was there last but I think that perhaps you are getting more out of your trip than I did. I showed up with no plans and no books or guidelines of stuff to see. So honestly I dont know what I missed, but looking at your photos I realize that I missed alot. I did go into some of the malls also, but mostly wondered the streets getting lost also. When are you off to Malaysia?
27th June 2007

WoooHOoo!!!
Woweeee!!! So much adventure and funness!!! I am proud of you girl!!! Have tons of fun...try new food and enjoy:) May your experience be enlightening and seasoned with joy!!! Take care and be safte...thinking of you and we will keep in touch....p.s. I love the pictures absolutely coolness....your friend always Angela

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb