Singapore :)


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Orchard Road
September 11th 2013
Published: October 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The bus driver took me to the bus station on the road where my hostel was. However, I chose to walk down the road in the opposite way (obviously not knowing this) and when I finally realised someone pointed out the hostel for me - right on the corner of road opposite the bus station.

The Green Kiwi Backpackers.

The staff were so welcoming and friendly and gave me a map of the city with the MRT lines. In the main communal/eating area there were laminated posters showing you all the possible things you could do in Singapore. However, for the time being I went to my dorm and had an hour or so sleep. I really wasn't feeling well and my nose would not stop running. I wasn't going to let this defeat me for the rest of the day so I got up and walked to the closest MRT, Boon Keng and to Chinatown. I felt pretty happy and safe in this country already. I found the food hall and had duck and rice then wandered around to the find the temples.

I found Sri Mariamman, Singapore's oldest Hindu temple. It was very pretty and colourful. Then I found and entered the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple. This was very large, vibrant and aesthetically pleasing to look at. The name may give it away that this is a Buddhist temple. I very much enjoyed just walking around Chinatown.

On my return to the hostel, I found the cheap food hall down the road from me and enjoyed some yummy food.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb