The Institution


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Orchard Road
August 13th 2011
Published: August 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After living out of a backpack or suitcase for 4 weeks, I was finally able to unpack when I moved into my apartment Aug 1. It's a nice little place & feels homey. I dropped a bunch of money at Ikea last weekend - if that doesn't scream 'settling in', I don't know what does. The place is called 'Institution Ville' - I was a bit nervous when I heard that's where I was moving, but I do really like it. It's a 500 sq ft 1 bedroom & feels quite big. I've attached some pictures.

The location is pretty good - walking distance to plenty of things, including a grocery store that sells Oregon blueberries (in addition to other delicious local produce). I'm a bus-to-train ride away from the office & the commute takes a little less than an hour. The public transit is fairly easy to use, with the exception of the bus drivers who generally can't speak English & end up telling you that you're traveling in the correct direction when in fact you are not (causing you to have to run off the bus & hail a taxi so you can get to work on time for a meeting 😊

So by now it's probably obvious to everyone, including myself, that I am no good at updating the blog. I will continue to promise to try & do better, but facebook is probably a better way to keep up with me, especially if you want to see pictures. I'm fairly decent at putting photos up there timely.

I'm staying in Singapore this weekend & will hopefully get a chance to do some sightseeing - I haven't explored the city much between work, travel & getting settled in the new place.

Miss you all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb