Made it to Singapore!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Raffles Marina
July 26th 2011
Published: July 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Singapore Sunday evening. To say that going from East Africa to Singapore is a culture shock does not even scratch the surface. I think that was actually the most culture shocked I've ever been in my life. Tanzania was amazing - the people were wonderful, the streets were dirty, the drivers were maniacs & the terrain was beautiful, rugged and/or remote. Like, we spent 3.5 hours driving across dirt one day ('dirt road' is too generous a description for what we were on). The cleanest I felt in my 3 weeks in Africa was backpacking on the mountain (where i went 8 days without showering).

Then to arrive in Singapore. The airport was immaculate. And seemingly deserted. I have a new PR for getting through customs - I think from the plane to out of the shower at the hotel took less than 2 hours.
Yes, Singapore is an efficient society. And you can probably get from one end of this city to the other without ever leaving a shopping mall. The malls are busy (probably because they are throughways), high end, and clean. After 3 weeks of filth (and i mean that in the nicest possible way), it's wonderful to be clean. I get giddy every time I look at my toes. They aren't black anymore.

That being said, I really do miss Tanzania. We had delicious home cooked meals the majority of the trip. People I had never met before in my life looked after my well-being as if I were their child. We were genuinely welcomed almost everywhere we went. People were incredibly patient with my attempts at Swahili & my ridiculous Swanglish. That language has clung to me - I still think meme nimeshiba after a delicious meal in a Singapore mall food court. I miss the ndizi (banana). And the nanasi (pineapple). And the embe! (mango) Anyone considering a trip to Tanzania, I would highly recommend it. Anyone considering a trek up Kilimanjaro, I would HIGHLY recommend it. (on a side note I would also HIGHLY recommend doing some research on the guide company you use & how the porters are treated, but that’s a blog for another day. Or a conversation over an IPA 😊

Aside from my reflection on the last 3 weeks, Singapore is going well so far. Haven't had a chance to check out the city/island much but hoping to this weekend. I'm in a hotel for now, moving to an apt Aug
1. We have a 4 day weekend the 2nd weekend in August & I just booked a flight to Kuching, Malaysia…don’t know a ton about it, but I believe I can get some nature here.

I hope everyone is doing well! I miss you guys!

Advertisement



5th August 2011

Miss you, Mary.
I loved reading your blog, your trip sound like a lifetime adventure, and I enjoyed very much how you described your experiences...thank you for sharing! 8 days without a shower???You're brave, but I'm sure it was worth it. I'm glad you like Singapore and can't wait to read more about it and your next trip to Malaysia. I miss you, Mary but I'm proud of you for your adventurous spirit! P.S. Did you post photos here? If so, for some reason I cannot see them.
13th August 2011

Mary, I'm still trying to figure out whose child you are. You certainly did not get this spirit of adventure from your father or me! Enjoy every moment-you deserve it!!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb