Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
February 25th 2013
Published: March 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Got to hotel with no dramas, only $3 on the MRT. Checked in by eight and went for a walk to get my bearings. It's already dark and oppressively humid. End up in what appears to be the wrong end of town, almost lost in some unlit back streets. Seen several spa/massage parlours where I'm sure more services are provided than are listed If you get my drift. Back to hotel beneath which there is a 24hr food court, picked up a lean meat soup and rice for a couple of bucks.......not bad. Knackeredd.....head down.

Slept in a bit Monday as I'd got no sleep on the plane. A burst in the hotels (token) gym soon sorted me out. Breakfasted on something like fried dumplings on sticks........was ok. Got a three day tourist rail card for $30, ten of which is refundable when you hand the card bacK, excellent value. Trains are airconned which is a blessing and the stations are quite cool. Signs and announcements remind you that eating and drinking is not allowed on the trains or stations, probably why they're all spotlessly clean. Went to Little India in search of the Tekka Hawkers Market. It wasn't where the guide book advised at a temporary location and I couldn't find it in its original location. The area is down at heel and tatty which I don't mind at all, but it was totally uninteresting unless you were looking for car spares shops. Not at all how it's depicted in the guide book. I always seem to end up in the arsehole of town! There could be more to it but after walking several K and only getting hot, sweaty and knackered for my efforts I couldn't find it.

Found a shopping mall to cool off in, heavenly! The food court looked interesting if unfamiliar. Settled for a Korean Hawkers stall. Had a set meal, spicy chicken, fried Saba (mackerel I think), a bowl of awful tasting cloudy, fishy water, tiny dried whole sliver fish in chilli as a relish (not to my pallet) and a type of veg (I think) in the same sauce and rice. It seems good at first but the more I eat the more I'm beginning to regret my choice.

Cooled of sufficiently I took the MRT to Harbour Front and walked about the Seah Im food centre. Very interesting but again not for my pallet, lots of beef tendon soup, pigs liver soup, pigs trotter, pigs intestine and fish head curry! Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm Yum!

Another massive mall here, the Vivo Mall - apparantly the biggest in Singapore, which was a welcom place to cool off. This is definitely high rise city, and all the shops seem to be in one of the many malls comprising of several levels with food courts generaly in the lower level. Some of which are huge, bigger infact than ones I've experienced in America. From Harbour Front you can get a cable car, train, drive or walk to Sentosa. An island with beaches and family attractions. Also in the mall are embarcation points for ferry and cruise ships.

Back at the hotel I grab some food from the food court which I can't eat and unfortunately I have to get a burger from Wendy's! Which is also pretty wrank! Oh well tomorrow is another day.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb