On The Road


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Chinatown
January 9th 2013
Published: January 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Singapore. Interesting. Trickier than you'd think to find the immigration terminal on the Malaysia side of the bridge. Trickier still riding the motorway across the island to the city. However I'm here, unscathed and stunned by the cityscape. A huge change from rural Thailand and Malaysia. And a whole lot more expensive. Agreed, indulging in a beer and pizza at Raffles was a bit of an extravagance but we only live once.

I've seen no less than 3 monitor lizzards.1 of them about 4 feet long and another, smaller one was 15' up a tree. They're huge beasts. Quite prehistoric. Not reptiles to have in your garden I would've thought unless you're an enthusiast.

Got a 2 month visa to sort for Indonesia. It's a very large archipelago and I'm keen to see the Orang Outans in western Sumatra as well as the Komodo dragons on Flores. There'll be quite a bit more peddling to do between them.

All in all, the trip, an odd oddysy as I think I've said before, continues to enthrall, excite, exhaust and amaze me.

More from even further away,

Nick/Cyclopath

Advertisement



9th January 2013

Wow, Singapore already, well done! Only 2 months to get across Indonesia, eh. Flores is well worth visiting for the stunning volcanic lakes & the Komodos are on Komodo island only I think. They are scary! Sumatra was amazing (I spent a month there & popped back to Singapore for another 60 day visa - might be worth considering?). We\'re still in south India, moving v v slowly... N&M

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb