It's so hot in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Chinatown
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The moment you step outdoors in Singapore, you are blasted with an incredible, humid heat. Right now, it is 90F ("feels like" 97F), and it is not pleasant at all. It's no wonder that Singaporeans take so kindly to shopping malls, with their air conditioned goodness. Also, I am getting bitten by a gajillion mosquitoes. I don't know how much more I can last at this computer before I dive back into my air-conditioned room.

I was up early (see earlier entry), so I snagged some free breakfast from the hostel and chatted with the surfer Jonah, who had spent a year working in the Philippines. After discussing our trip plans, I headed out to walk around the city.

My hostel is right next to Orchard Road, which seems to be the Herald Square of New York x 10. Lots of designer stores alongside not-so-designer stores, with the occasional raunchy sex store in between. There was nothing really interesting to see here, especially since everything was closed at 9 in the morning. One thing to note is that all of the subway exits passed through various malls.

The subway itself is very nice. Once again, extremely clean, and
Me with Cat StatuesMe with Cat StatuesMe with Cat Statues

These creepy things are everywhere
on time. The cars run smoothly, are air-conditioned, and protective barriers ensure that they are even safer than the cars in Japan. After seeing the subways in Tokyo and Singapore, I'm convinced that NYC and Philly are doing it wrong (DC is only slighter better in comparison).

I took a tour at the Asian Civilizations Museum and had a great time. It was $1.70 to enter, with a free guided tour. A good air-conditioned way to pass the morning, and it's located in an interesting area (Raffles Place) that seems to be the mid-town of Singapore, with lots of banks and businessmen.

Afterwards, I headed over to Chinatown to get some Hawker Stand lunch. I basically walked around picking up finger food, and bypassing all the touristy goods, went food shopping. I've included all the pictures below, and although nothing was particularly amazing, it was on a whole, cheap and extremely satisfying. As I type, I plan on going to another area where there promises to be more food shopping. I tell myself that it's not a persistent pattern in my travels, but rather that I'm saving all the good stuff until Kathy gets here!

-Michael


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

No Durians!No Durians!
No Durians!

These things smell so strongly, they're singled out in this subway poster
CobblersCobblers
Cobblers

There are tons of cobblers in the streets of Chinatown... I didn't know that many people fixed their shoes!
Red BullRed Bull
Red Bull

Didn't taste like the same thing... they sell the usual kind here as well
Durian StandDurian Stand
Durian Stand

These are the infamously smelly fruits, and you can find them everywhere in Singapore's chinatown
Ice Cream SandwichIce Cream Sandwich
Ice Cream Sandwich

In Singapore, they really mean sandwich (70 cents)
Durian PancakeDurian Pancake
Durian Pancake

Kind of like a Crepe. The pancake part tasted fine, but I gagged the moment I reached the Durian filling (83 cents)
Chicken/Cheese Hot DogChicken/Cheese Hot Dog
Chicken/Cheese Hot Dog

After the Durian Pancake, this tasted so good (90 cents)
Afternoon BeerAfternoon Beer
Afternoon Beer

I asked for a Heineken, and I was given this monstrosity ($5.50)
Seafood BallsSeafood Balls
Seafood Balls

With various kinds of filling, these things were the best food-stand food I had today ($1.73 for 4)
PastryPastry
Pastry

Some soft chinese pastries ($1.40 for 12)
Subway DoorsSubway Doors
Subway Doors

The track area is guarded from floor to ceiling by an automated gate
The inside of the Subway (MRT)The inside of the Subway (MRT)
The inside of the Subway (MRT)

The cars are all linked together, allowing you to get an awesome tunnel-like view


30th June 2009

Mike, interesting posts lah! Can post itinerary so we can anticipate next leg of trip mah? Write next post in Singlish :)

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb