Best and Worst Airlines


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Changi
June 27th 2022
Published: June 27th 2022
Edit Blog Post

This list has changed rather dramatically from the last time I saw it. This one is from Travel Awaits (MSN) that is rather shocking, since Singapore, my personal favorite, is number eight!!! As times goes, the airlines change as well. I have a letter grade for my assessment of the airlines. Here is the list:

• Lufthansa I just flew them to Frankfurt, and on to Athens, Greece. They lost my luggage, and it was going to require a 24 hour wait to receive it, unless I paid for a cab to pick it up!!! The food is mediocre at best (purportedly on fine china), and Business Class seats were not very comfortable. Plus, there is a touch of that stereotypical German sternness in all of the flight attendants. It was an experience, and certainly not worth using my hard-earned miles to upgrade! B-

• Air Canada It has been a while since I have flown on AC. The last time was about 5 years ago from SFO to Toronto, in coach. It was okay for coach compared to the US airlines. But their Business Class from SFO to Toronto to Santiago was very good. They were one of the first airlines to have pods in Business. Both the food and champagne were above average, as was the staff. B+

• KLM Royal Dutch Airlines I have only flown short haul flights in the last five years. I really cannot offer an opinion, other than the name is cute, as are the female Dutch flight attendants. C

• British Airways Seasoned travelers love BA, though I am not sold on their customer service. Though I have flown them fairly often over the years, I am not overly impressed. Since Heathrow is their hub, I avoid Heathrow at all costs. It is a nightmare to arrive, and transfer to another destination. My friends love BA, but not me! C

• Icelandair I think the entire Iceland PR game to get people to Iceland is so overdone. The language is weird, and food even weirder. But they are nice. The food was terrible, and the Economy Plus seats were a joke. Plus, Reykjavik is a crappy, crowded airport for changing planes. C

• Qantas I don't remember much about it, but they are efficient, with nice staff. Their lounge in Sydney has great food. B-

• Qatar Airways My only flights were in SE Asia as I recall. Certainly, nothing memorable, but worth a try. I hear Business and First Class are quite nice. C

Singapore Any ranking that has Singapore at eight is a total joke. By far Singapore is the best airline I have ever flown! Great staff. excellent food and wines, great entertainment options, comfortable seats, and always on time. And the lounge has the best food ever, with hot entrees, sushi, and fresh burgers!!!. A+++
• Virgin Atlantic Based on my only experience, I would say they are above average. B

• Air France My only flight was rather short, Bordeaux to Amsterdam, as I recall. Nothing remarkable one way or another. C

And now for domestic airlines:

• Southworst Don't get me started, I hate Southworst, always cancelling flights, rude staff, crappy planes. C-

• Delta Not one of my favorites since they do not go where I want to go. Some people swear by Delta, but they are sitting up front in Business or First. C

• American Once I used up all of my United miles, I decided to give them a chance. I would give them a B-, since most flights require a transfer at DFW, which is a real PIA. But their staff is very nice, food is mediocre, and they tend to be on time or early.

• United I was once a faithful UAL flyer, but I made a pledge to just go with the most convenient and cost-effective flights. I made this decision about 5 years ago, and I never regret it. The "old" flight attendants became known as the "flying mamas", not a very affectionate term for the old, tired, and cranky female flight attendants. I probably flew over a million miles on UAL, and I am now glad to be free of their frequent flyer shackles. C-

• Alaska Airlines I think Alaska is my favorite, just because they seem to try harder. They don't fly everywhere, but they are nice, the food is decent, and their lounges are better than AA and UAL. A-

I have found a few airlines that I am willing to fly more often: JAL, Korean, Air New Zealand, ANA, Aer Lingus, Aegean, and maybe JetBlue and Hawaiian.
I think the days of accumulating mega miles on one carrier are over! I always choose the most convenient, reasonably priced, and always foreign instead of domestic carriers. And I don't fly as often as I once did!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb