Bukit Timah - Singapore's Last Rain Forest


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bukit Batok
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Green is the Hindhede Quarry Red Is near the park entrance I think

Into the Rain forest


After speaking with my dorm-mate last night I decided to search for the rain forest. I was still a little unsure its exact name so I consulted the all-knowing Google. There were two locations Bukit Batok Nature Park and Bukit Timah Nature Reserve. Bukit Timah was bigger so I decided to head there. I took the MRT then a short cab ride to the park entrance. As we pulled in, I could see quite a few monkeys in the parking lot...good start.

There was a pretty cool network of about 10 trails that were centered around a few granite quarries and the tallest hill in Singapore. The trail started out near sea level and climbed almost without stopping to the 164m (~535ft) summit. I was thinking there'd be a nice view of the city or something but the forest was so thick I was lucky to see a few beams of sunlight. I took about 6 more trails after that all around the rain forest in search of little monkeys. I saw plenty of signs warning me against feeding them, but no monkeys themselves. Plenty of other cool things. Check out the pictures.

After being out there for 3 hours, I was exhausted. I headed back to the visitor center and noticed a sign for one more trail to the quarry lookout point. I figured one more wouldn't hurt. As you can see the quarry was impressive. You can see the big antenna tower that I was next to on the top of the hill not long before. I'll try to stitch together a panorama.

I headed out of the reserve and found another small park with about 20 or more monkeys! None in the forest, but plenty along the street. I guess they like the attention. I stopped and took a few pictures before I got a cab for home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Stepping stonesStepping stones
Stepping stones

made of slices of trees


12th January 2009

Yea Road Warrior!
Sounds like you're navigating new life pretty well! (Don't eat that candy...melamine-infused I hear!) Really happy to hear from you, and take care! Love ya!
28th March 2009

Love to see your pictures!!!
What an experience you are having. good old Colorado had a blizzard this week after several days of 60 and 70 weather....Dan is here with us at night as he is working on the Power house in Pueblo. I hope you are not bringing home to Lynn a Monkey. They probably would not get along with the cats. Love, grammie Shirley.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb