Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bugis Village
March 22nd 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Singapore at 19.20 and were out the airport by 20.00 - really quick. The hostel we had booked at told us the best way to get to them would be by MRT, and there was a station in the airport. An hour later, we had made our way to Sleepy Sams Hostel, where we were to stay for the next two days. The hostel is quite small, but cosy, and our room was separate to the dorms, but with a shared bathroom ( we thought it would be good to prepare us for our campervan!).

The next morning we dragged ourselves out of bed early and decided to head to Sentosa Island by Cable Car. The heat was again unbearable but the queue soon died down and we were in Air Con! The Cable Car wasnt far from the MRT station and so was easy to get to. This then took us accross Singapore Marina and onto the Island.....best described as Disney Land Singapore Style! The island was fun but extremely expensive. Giant animal statues were dotted about between the sky rides, luge's sea life centre and hotels. We took a ride on the Carlsberg Sky Tower for amazing views of Singapore. At least 5 minutes later we were walking back around the island. We ventured down to the beach and felt the need to sample some Ice Cream before heading back on a chair lift to the cable car.

We had booked a night Safari for that evening and were being picked up at 6pm to get to the zoo for when the safari began at 7pm. On arrival we saw the crowds pile into the zoo, and suddenly remembered it was in fact Good Friday, one of the busiest days to visit! We headed straight to an animal Show, which was meant to be the highlight of the trip. It was very funny, although there was more talking than animals ( I think the woman fancied herself as a stand-up comedian) and constant queue jumping. We boarded the tram next, after a wait of about an hour, where we were taken around the zoo to visit some of the nocturnal animals. It had a feel of Jurassic park- but without the excitement. As much as we think deers are lovely, facinating animals, we felt it a little tiresome seeing over half the worlds different species! The animals were in really big enclosures though and they are really big on conservation there, which was great. The best part of the night Safari was the Tribal dance and display with Fire which was truely amazing although we think one of them burnt his mouth!

After what felt like an entire evening of queuing and preventing certain people pushing in, it was time to head back to the hostel for a very welcome sleep!

And that pretty much brings us up to date. We will be catching a flight tonight to Melbourne and from their we will no doubt place our next blog.

Please keep leaving messages and we will try to respond to them now we will be getting more free time. Hope you are all well.

Kayley & James





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



22nd March 2008

Wargh!
Ah! It's looks like you're having such an amazing time!! I think you need to get a camcorder...with commentary like that and video footage to match you could easily give Michael Palin a run for his money!! Kayley, I had a right blond moment this morning...I'm playing Glenda in the good Friday gang next weekend and I thought, ooh, I'll give Kayley a ring and she what she wore! What a nonce! You both look so tanned and well! And I want to go to that airport! Way better than staying at the Grosvenor, especially 202! Oh, and I thihnk I'm a merlion, seeing as I'm a Leo and I have webbed feet...would I be worshipped over there?!? I hope so! Matt and his family and I have planned our trip to OZ for the 16th of September, so we'll be calling on you for all your local knowledge! I'm so jealous of your campervan goodness!! Reet, I just remembered I put this as a public comment rather than a private one, not that's it is private, but I'm sure no-one else wants to see my rambling!! Lots of love from not so sunny and very windy Nottingham!!! Ps, I only got the link for this site from Matt not long ago, and this was the first update email I got, so I'll be commenting lots more from now! Love love love love love! xxxxxx
24th March 2008

G'day travellers!
Sounds like Singapore is a great place to visit - hope you took loads of photos of the buildings and Disney-like place for me! Have a great time in Australia. Ben (posted on my iPod touch)
28th March 2008

Oi!
Oi Morgan - don't blame me for your crapness! Hope you two are having a fab time! I'm missing you both :OP xxx
29th March 2008

Just to add Kayley, I have printed your Travel Blog and passed it onto your Nan and Grandad Pacey. Hope that is ok and keep enjoying yourself and keep safe.
4th April 2008

Thankyou
Thanks Joanna, I would really appreciate it if you could keep printing it of for them. xxx

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb