Next Stop Tokyo


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Subic
April 22nd 2009
Published: April 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

HomeHomeHome

This is where I liked to hang out in the morning and evening's sipping a SML

Subic Wrap up



I spent the day walking around Subic town yesterday it was fascinating but sometimes its tiring being a tourist, everyone wants to sell you something and I found myself repeating Hindeh (No in Tagalog) far to often. In fact i think "no" is the first word I've had to learn in Mandarin, Thai, and Tagalog. After walking around the town I went and hung out at the beach as night passed on we noticed hundreds of little baby crabs coming out they are so tiny run very very fast and are almost translucent I didn't even notice they were biting my feet (at least I think it was them) until the next day when I noticed about 20 little bumps on my feet and ankles.

The Snorkeling in the Philippine's wasn't as great as off Ko tao in Thailand but I only did go to one spot apparently there are some amazing spots you can go to that are just as stunning. Which brings me to one of those lessons for my next trip learn SCUBA before I go and research snorkeling dive companies, unfortunately I never did get my SCUBA certificate.

I'm just packing
Floating paradiseFloating paradiseFloating paradise

They have a few of these floating platforms on the beach, they are quite nice.
now and getting organized to go to Tokyo tomorrow and I am really excited, I wish I planned to go to Tokyo sooner, since I only have3 days in Tokyo before its back to Shanghai. First off thankfully yesterday it finally cooled off a bit, and even rained some, which gave me a chance to catch up on my dehydration, I think I've sweat more since starting this trip than I have the rest of my life combined, thankfully the other day I met a contractor who has been working in iraq and other parts of asia for just over 5 years and he gave me some tips on staying hydrated, it seems the best thing to do is drink one drink that will increase your electrolytes/salts (ie Gatorade)than down a bottle of water with a vitamin C tablet in it, that seems have helped and my headache hasn't returned.

All in all the Philippines is an amazing place and I really wish I had decided to take my camera with me more often, but in the heat I traveled as light as possible. I don't think I will ever come back but I feel I have more respect
IslandIslandIsland

This is a little man made island in the middle of the beach area, I spent last night chilling on it sipping an SML (local beer)
for the world because of the thing's I've seen, the people I've met and the stories I've heard, Just like in Thailand I've really enjoyed meeting other travelers and hearing their stories,I've heard so many fascinating stories about Vietnam and Cambodia I feel like I've been or at least like I know enough about them to know if I come back this way again I'd like to stop by. I've learned so many things on this trip that will help me with the trip I want to do next year. I'm thinking New Zealand, Fiji, and Australia but that'sstill up in the air.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

BeachBeach
Beach

Just a random beach shot
WaterWater
Water

Lots of little hand made boats in this part of the wolrd


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb