Sagada (10-12 Apr 13)


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Sagada
April 11th 2013
Published: April 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hanging CoffinsHanging CoffinsHanging Coffins

Yes that's exactly what they are, an old tradition of this area.
So I left Banaue somewhat unsure about my decision not to check out Batad. After all, it'd been touted by LP as the place for the most spectacular view of the Ifugao rice terraces. But for some reason or another I didn't feel like making the trek there. And so after just one night in Banaue, I made a U-turn back in the direction of Bontoc, towards my next destination Sagada.

It didn't help that on the minivan ride there, I sat next to Ch'en, an Israeli female solo traveller who'd just returned from Batad, and regaled how amazing the view was. Oh well, maybe next time! In any case I took the opportunity to brush up on my Arab-Israeli conflict knowledge with Ch'en. I know, not the most light-hearted of conversational topics for a winding 3h van ride through the Cordilleras! But Ch'en was a good sport.

Sagada was indeed a lovely place, as the Japanese backpacker I'd spoke to in Banaue had promised. Another small town in the highlands, it was devoid of the annoying touts, whose antics I've yet to get accustomed too even after almost a full year of travel. In fact, the reverse was
Sagada Rice TerracesSagada Rice TerracesSagada Rice Terraces

Another beauty...
almost true in Sagada. The locals seemed almost taken aback each time I approached them for the various routine business propositions (guesthouse, purchase supplies, information on sights etc). The lady at the guesthouse almost seemed surprised when I told her I would take the room she showed me.

Despite the picturesque and relaxed setting, two consecutive days of extended afternoon showers curtailed my exploration of the town. But I still managed to take in the obligatory sights of the local peaks, caves and hanging coffins (yes you read that right, check out the photos).

Stayed at Olahbinan Guesthouse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Lumiang CaveLumiang Cave
Lumiang Cave

There are 30min tours that guide you through the pitch blackness out the other end, but I opted out, remembering how I'd already been "caved out" from my experience with Kong Lo in Laos last year!
Sagada CemeterySagada Cemetery
Sagada Cemetery

I stumbled upon this just behind the church. Sagada has a certain obession with death...
Sadaga MallSadaga Mall
Sadaga Mall

And this is what the inside looks like. Sure ain't no Siam Paragon or CentralWorld in Bangkok...
Yoghurt HouseYoghurt House
Yoghurt House

Perhaps the most famous and popular restaurant in town. I usually try not to eat at the same restaurant multiple times, but I couldn't help but visit this place three times! Yes, the yoghurt was good.
Fried Bangus (Milkfish)Fried Bangus (Milkfish)
Fried Bangus (Milkfish)

I haven't posted too many shots of Filipino food yet, so here's a sample.


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb