I survived the bus from Baguio to Sagada and back


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Sagada
January 28th 2010
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have been thinking about how I was going to write about my bus trip to Sagada from Baguio. I'm still not sure, but I guess a good anology would be this" the bus drivers of both GL bus, and Lazardo are all Crazy!!! It was a 6 hour death defying trip that had my ass puckered trying to hang onto the seat the whole way up and back, through the 180-190 degree switch backs, with 1000-2000 foot vertical drops the whole way!!!!! What ever those guys are paid isn't enough. If I had only know what I was in for, I would have hired a car and driven there myself. But NO, I had to ride the local bus!!!!

I know that if you haven't experienced this, you probably won't believe that a simple bus ride could have been that extreme. Well I'm not too big on religion, but I found myself praying that I could enjoy just one last SML before I went crashing to my death!!!
The ride up and back cost a mere P250 each way. It took 6 hours on the way up, and 8 hours on the way back. We had a rock slide cover the hi-way and it took a couple hours to get someone out there on Sunday morning to clear all the rock so we could pass. (please see pic's)
Sagada was a very pleasant village to visit and it was a lot cooler than what I had experienced since arriving in Manila, and Angeles City. The rice terraces were magnificent!! I made a hike to the big waterfalls, down through the rice terraces, and really enjoyed it. Although it did show me how really out of shape I am. Also did the Hanging coffin cave,, and another cave exploration that was full of just a lot of mineral deposits and bat dung. Next stop, Olongapo City and the beach.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb