The Waves Took Her Away


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan
June 1st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

AlimangwanAlimangwanAlimangwan

Sunset at Alimangwan. My sister and her husband
I spent holy week in Palawan with my family for our bienial family reunion. My family flew ahead of me because i wasnt allowed to go on leave because there were a lot of clients in the bank before the long weekend. So I flew alone a day after they did.

I was a bit worried when I landed in Palawan because Sun cellular didnt have a signal in their airport, and in most of Palawan as I later found out. My uncle’s driver fetched me at the airport. He hasnt seen me before so its a miracle how he recognized me given only my uncles description that i look like him.

So the van took me to San Vicente where my grandma lives. Its more than 4 hours drive from the city. The smell of skunk reminded me that I was in Palawan. Its a very distinct Palawan smell. Im not talking about the entire Palawan okay! Its just some isolated incidents where a skunk felt threatened.

The next morning I woke up early to go to the beach. San Vicente has the longest stretch of white sand beach in Palawan. 18 kilometers. Its not yet commercialized
San Vicente 6:00 AMSan Vicente 6:00 AMSan Vicente 6:00 AM

18 kilometer virgin beach. Just my grandmas backyard. There are no establishments yet but its going to be the next hot spot in Palawan. People there say its going to be the next Boracay. I love isolated beaches like this. We had it all to ourselves.
but it will be very soon. Its absolutely gorgeous. My cousins, nephews and nieces then followed. We played in the water. Catching waves and just having a great time. Then it was time to go. We wanted to go to the rice fields. We hung out by the beach first and started getting to know each other again. It was the first time I met Aia. She’s a beautiful 12 year old cousin. She was the one who wanted to visit the rice fields. So we agreed to wash. I went ahead of them to grandmas house to wash. They washed in the sea. As i was cleaning myself up in the bathroom. I heard screams and wailing. “Theyre drowning!” I felt my stomach turn upside down. I ran to the beach. Wearing only my underwear. I saw them drowning. Two of them were still struggling in the deep water. I wanted to go to them and rescue them but I knew that i couldn't. I know how to swim but not enough to save someone who's drowning. We got a boat and got to them.

Then we saw something white floating from a distance. The kids screamed thats
The twins and their kidsThe twins and their kidsThe twins and their kids

My sisters and their kids in Alimangwan
Aia! She was floating unconscious. The rescuers got to her too late. Dr Fernandez, my brother in law did CPR. Although he knew it was too late. Aia was dead. But still we were hoping. I was praying earnestly for a miracle. Not ready to accept that shes dead. They took her to the hospital, but there was nothing that they could do.

We had to leave for Puerto Princesa immediately. We stopped by at the cemetery where grandpa is buried to make arrangements for Aia. It was a very difficult day for everyone. I kept thinking of what I could have done if I had not left the kids early. It was all I could think about.

We ate at a diner across the street of our hotel. Food is sooo cheap in Puerto Princesa. You can have a meal for only 30 pesos! In Manila that could only buy you bread. Hotels are cheap too. 900 pesos a day. We decided to go to one of Puerto's fancy restaurants for dinner. My friend from Manila told me about Balinsasayaw. I also saw it featured on a travel show and on a travel magazine. Its a garden
Underground RiverUnderground RiverUnderground River

The longest subterranean river in Asia
restaurant. No AC because it was al-fresco. The food was great and they had big servings. And best of all the food was sooo cheap. There There were ten of us and we only paid 1700 Pesos. In Manila that meal would cost somewhere between 5000 to 6000 pesos.

The following day our relatives suggested that we (my immediate family) go to the underground river. I was a bit surprised to hear that. But we really did want to go. My relatives are very open minded that way. I didn't spend 10,000 pesos just to sulk in a funeral. With all due respect. So we went and sailed to the underground river.

As we were sailing on the boat, still all I could think of was Aia. I could see her face whenever i looked in the water. She was asking for help. The waves were high. My niece Blainshel who was with Aia when she drowned was crying. Maybe she was afraid. Afraid of the ocean because of what happened. Maybe she was sad. She could have been thinking of Aia just like I was. Or maybe both. I couldn't concentrate on appreciating the beauty of Palawan
MachismoMachismoMachismo

Whos that hot guy on the beach? Forgot to bring my swimsuit so i wore my boxers. It fell off a lot because of the waves. Good thing i was wearing briefs too. I didnt want to scandalize my family
because all I could think of was the accident. We still had fun in the underground river though. Its hard not to.

My flight is a day earlier than the rest of my family because I had work the following day. When i got to the airport the plane was boarding already, I was told. But for the life of me I didnt understand what she meant. I'm not used to flying alone. I usually just follow whoever Im with. Luckily one of the guards saw my ticket and reminded me that the plane was boarding already. When I got to the plane the flight attendants were all by the door staring at me. Probably whispering how stupid I am for causing the delay.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

BeaBea
Bea

My niece Bea playing in the sand. That huge leg is her dad's
Underground RiverUnderground River
Underground River

Lots of monkeys and monitor lizzards in this place. Careful with your bags and food when the monkeys are around. Almost stepped on a dark red scorpion.


Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 104; dbt: 0.0945s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb