Quick Update


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan » Puerto Princesa
March 1st 2008
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Wednesday, I and the rest of the DTS crew when island hopping to Snake Island, about 1-hour bangka-ride off of Honda Bay. The island has it's name from the long winding sandbar jutting out of one side. We rented a few snorkels and swam above the coral reef, where we could see literally hundred of fish of all sorts of colors. If you feed them bread, they will it nibble it right out of your fingers. I have seen beneath the sea in pictures and in nature videos, but it doesn't compare to seeing it in real life. I took off my snorkel many time to dive deeper for a better view, but after 8 meters my ears were too painful to go deeper. Next mission, scuba diving. Me and Orville took the 45 minute walk to the tip of the sandbar, and we found a few fish, but mostly just big starfish. We had to run back, because high tide was on the move, and some of the sandbar was already under water.

I leave for outreach on Monday morning, probably at 3AM or some other ridiculous hour. I have too many things to fit in my backpack, so I'm gonna have to do some serious inventory and leave some things in needy hands. No matter how cheap things can be in this country, I am constantly aware that my life needs to be lived out of a backpack. There has to be a limit to my possessions, and I do not intend to hoard the excess. But the story of my life has always included a quarterly clean-up of the things I own, even when I had an apartment. Simpler is better.

Maybe more blog another time. I love you all. Take care. Share a pizza. Write a book. Organize a surprise birthday. Send a letter. Do something with your lives while I do the same. :c)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb