Going Underground, Part II


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan » Puerto Princesa
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

There's not a whole lot that I could write about and grab any attention from this past week. It's been delightfully slow here. Last night we had a birthday cake and movie night for two of our aging residents. It was a fantastic hoot of a time. Anyways, on to more entertaining things...

In exactly a week, I will beginning outreach phase. It's a vague term, yes, but I will try to describe it, at least what it will mean for me.

First of all, we will be relocating to another part of Palawan for some time. Perhaps 2 weeks. Then we will fly to metro Manila and do some stuff there for 2 weeks.

Then, we will fly to Vietnam and bus to Cambodia, each for just over a week. We will be involved with underground churches, which are highly illegal. Most of the country is actually Buddhist, which really dislike the idea of Jesus. We're not talking about just not preaching in public, we're talking about passwords and secret locations, and fronts. Almost like the mafia, except for good reasons. We're talking prison time and other bad things for people caught breaking government restrictions. Oh yes, the tribal outreach was peanuts compared to this. I find this all very exciting. I can't wait to get started. Death has lost it's sting, as far as I'm concerned. But fear not, because I'll be with experienced, reliable experts.

To wind things down, we will be attending a conference about Frontier Missions is Thailand, where it is also illegal to be a missionary, but they're usually a little more lax and use it for extortion if anything.

So yeah, that's what's going to happen in the future. It'd be pointless to go into too much more detail before I've been down the windy path of such covert operations, since anything could change at any time. So perhaps I will be back to report on my experience. Toodles.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb