Just in time


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
February 3rd 2011
Published: February 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm at a Cafe now in Manila. My friend and I caught the 9:15am from JFK to Hong Kong. He said the flights after that were canceled. That was a close call. I knew all week we were going to be OK weatherwise but I kept checking anyway.

Carmel was supposed to pick me up at 4:45am. At 4:40am they called saying they were going to be late. At 5:05 they called again and said that the driver that was supposed to pick me up got into an accident on 190th street. Had it been another time, the good Christian in me would have said "Oh no, is he OK?." But at the time I was like "so in other words, I'm not getting a car."

I ended up taking the A train. I was pleasantly surprised how trip the quick was. The train came to 190th Street at 5:30. At 6:30, I was already at the JFK/ Howard Beach stop.

The flights over to Hong Kong then Manila were uneventful. We got in at 8pm last night and just hung around a bar across the street from Friendly's.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb