Update from SM Mega Mall


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
March 31st 2006
Published: March 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

MegamallMegamallMegamall

View from Starbucks
After updating the blog on Tuesday in Virac I went for a walk down to the water, there wasn't a lot to see so I went back to my hotel (Midtown Inn) and had a rest. At around 6pm I walked to the Sea Breeze, next to Virac Port and had dinner, I chose the sizzling Blue Marlin steak, the same as my last visit here a week earlier.
Wednesday morning I woke early and got ready for the flight back to Manila, I arrived at Virac airport quite early and read my book until the flight was due to depart. The flight back was uneventful which is fine by me, fortunately I had a window seat so was able to enjoy some great views. Sitting next to me was a young Filipina (couldn't have been more than twenty) with a English guy who would have been sixty in the shade, not an altogether uncommon sight in the Philippines, they seemed quite happy together though.
Arriving at the domestic airport I was a little reluctant to get a taxi back to Pasig as I basically don't trust them. I'm sure there's lot's of honest cabbies but there's also some crooks so
ViracViracVirac

Catanduanes - a friendly place
I decided to take a different way home. After leaving the domestic terminal I jumped on a Jeepney headed for Baclaren, departing the Jeepney I then walked to the LRT and caught this to Edsa, at Edsa I changed to the MRT and rode it until Ortigas. I then walked to Robinson's Galleria and took a bus to Rosario, from here I took the tricycle home. It probably took me about an hour and a half, not bad, and the LRT, MRT and bus were all air conditioned. I didn't have much luggage so walking and changing transport wasn't too much of a problem, still by the time I got home I was ready for a shower.
Yesterday Marianne and Maribel took me to lunch, we went to a Japanese restaurant and the food was great, JP joined us and Marianne had little Theo with her. After lunch JP and I saw a movie call Just Friends, it was a comedy and I really enjoyed it. After the movie I bought a one litre carafe shaped bottle of California Burgundy, not bad at 196 pesos (about $Au5), I had a couple of glasses last night, it was quite drinkable, equivalent
Asian SpiritAsian SpiritAsian Spirit

A good alternative to PAL
to a better cask wine in Australia. After dinner I watched TV and had an early night.
This morning JP drove me to SM Mega Mall, I got some money from the ATM, had a cafe latte at Starbucks and am now at the Internet Cafe next to the Bowling Centre. The rate here is quite expensive (50 pesos an hour) compared to the places in the Provinces.
Tomorrow I leave for Davao with Mummy and will stay there until the 9th of April. I'll be staying with Joey and will also spend some time on Samal Island, should be a good trip. I'm just about ready for lunch, might try KFC's new Tempura chicken, bye for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Japanese RestaurantJapanese Restaurant
Japanese Restaurant

Great food especially the Tempura Squid
JP, Marianne and TheoJP, Marianne and Theo
JP, Marianne and Theo

My nephew, niece and grand nephew


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb