Day 2 and all is well


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
March 14th 2006
Published: March 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Left Sydney at 1.20pm on Monday the 13th, the plane was delayed about 1 hour. Arrived in Manila 5.50pm (local time), Florita (Mummy) was at the airport to meet me, we had to wait a liitle while till we could leave the airport the reason being that their car can't be used on Mondays between certain hours. All cars have one day with restrictions in order to ease the traffic. Whilst waiting we spoke with a lady who had just returned from working in Lebanon, she was very glad to be back in the Philippines. Mummy had a dozen San Miguels waiting for me though I showed some restraint and only drank a couple. A very tasty dinner was prepared - fish (Lapu Lapu) with sweet and sour sauce, adobo and macaroni.
Today I opened a bank account and purchased a SIM card for the mobile I brought with me, international text messages cost 15 pesos (about 38 cents), calls are much more expensive, I have about 425 pesos credit left. It's going to take a few days to get my ATM card so I'll leave for Daet on Thursday evening. I'll be down south for about two weeks and will then most likely go to Davao with Mummy for about a week.
The house in Pasig looks good, the bathrooms have been renovated as has the kitchen. The room I'm staying in is airconditioned and has cable TV so I'm very comfortable. Dad has lost weight and doesn't talk much now, Aunty Elsie is just the same and has found a corner to sit in.
I'm sending this update from Josephs house, he has a DSL connection so the speed is good. Marianne and Maribel are in Pampanga though Maribel may be back in Manila before I leave for Daet. Greetings to all and I've included a few photos.

Advertisement



14th March 2006

photos?
Can't see any photos.
15th March 2006

Mabuhay!
Excellent recount of your first 2 days Glen. We all hope to read more of your adventures in the Philippines. We are also eager to read when, where and to whom you have spoken tagalog in the Philippines. Enjoy and take care.
17th March 2006

Glad to share your fun
Hi Glen! I'm glad that Eleanor shared with me your travelblog so I can enjoy your trip too. Have fun and take care. Love to all, Rose Marie

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb