Intramuros Day Trip


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photos taken on the 5th of November 2007

In the morning we went to Greenhills to do a bit of shopping. Didn't really find anything worth buying. I did buy shoes but it didn't fit me when I got back to Australia (did it shrink? lol) so I just gave it away. I also bought a bag for my mum which didn't last long, the handle snapped. Note to self: do not buy there again or at least triple check it.

We had lunch at Teriyaki Boy at the shopping centre across Greenhills. Loved the food, the tofu steak in particular tasted better than any other tofu I've come across before. It had mushrooms & beef for its sauce. We also had scallops, sashimi, prawns & chicken teriyaki. Good meal - it lasted us through the day.

In the afternoon, we made our way to Intramuros. Not knowing Manila, I didn't realize how bad the traffic was. It took us 2 hours and a half (YES I KNOW) to get there. Wow - just WOW. So basically we wasted an entire afternoon there driving there because it was near closing time when we arrived. I plan to visit it again because I didn't even get to go inside. We did however go on one of the calesa ride (horse-drawn carriage) from Intramuros to Rizal Park. The monument of Rizal is roped off & guarded to prevent vandals from desecrating the place. It's well-lit and the lawns are in good condition. The tour itself was pleasant, save for the fumes coming the jeepneys. Being in a calesa, there was no escape from the pollution. Just had to suck it up & breathe the clean air. LOL




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

AyuntamientoAyuntamiento
Ayuntamiento

Casas Consitoriales - Seat of City Council of Manila
One of the old colonial buildingsOne of the old colonial buildings
One of the old colonial buildings

Must've been restored or they've rebuilt a replica since the entire place was bombed by the Japanese


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb