A Sea of Yellow


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
January 31st 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Aujero FamilyThe Aujero FamilyThe Aujero Family

*There are so many more of our family missing from this picture
Hello again!

Sorry it's been awhile this may be one of the last installments of my blog. Like I said the trip has been pretty hectic since Nancy got here.

I would blog about the Underground river but I have so much to say about it with so little time. I will say this though - it was an amazing experience however one that I will probably never do again. hehe. For three reasons - 1. the trip took all day long 2. Water Snakes 3. Bats - lots and lots of Bats. I will fill you all in over bloodys one sunday. 😊

Boracay was fun...I am not as tan as I would like to be but tan enough 😊 Nancy an I meet some nice people from all over the world. The beach there is just as amazing as I remember it...powder white sand that feels cool in the blazing sun and water so clear you feel like your swimming in a pool that is until you get a mouthful of salt water and see the fish swimming around your feet. The experience there my second time around was actually a little saddening. Boracay has become a major tourist trap, overdeveloped and commercialized. It saddens me that a place so beautiful has been turned into one big money making machine. And the development there continues - more hotels, more restaurants, more everything. Clubs, Bars - it's becoming a mini-Ibiza. And maybe this is a sure sign that I am getting older but I want a quiet, desolate beach where I can enjoy my cold beer and fresh crabs, rather than beaches littered with people. I'm glad I had the chance to go again but next time I come back to the motherland I will seek out a new beach...I've heard great things about El Nido and Davao.

Anyway...I did want to fill you in a little about Lola Mamangs Party. It was a Sea of Yellow...Yellow since it is the lucky color for the Chinese New Year according to Bong and Milai. So the Aujero Family dawned yellow proudly. It was great to have everyone in one room - like I said...36 years since the Aujero family children were all together. The Aujero Apos did a performance (see the videos) so cute! Apparently every family gathering they do that. It was great to see mom and her brothers and sisters together laughing, eating (which is what we all do so well), drinking, reminiscing...I can only imagine what my brothers and sisters and I will be like when we get old...I imagine that we won't be to far from my mom and dads brothers and sisters...it's almost like a looking glass to our future. I realize now more so than ever how lucky I am to have my family and it saddens me more and more everyday that I have to go home - not just because it's back to reality...but because my family is here, my roots are here. But I'll be back, next time with the whole Chicago Aujero-Paca Posse. 😊 Mainly, I wanted to share pictures of the party and the fam, so enjoy...

Much love to everyone back home....I love you all and miss you all very much!

xoxo

Peanut



Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb