We're Home...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 6th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me & AnnMe & AnnMe & Ann

@ The Warehouse in Makati. Checking out the club scene in Metro Manila
Hello everyone!

We made it home safe and sound. We spent our last days in the Philippines shopping for pasalubong (gifts) and for ourselves and spending time with my family (which includes several Salon at home phone calls for foot massages after a long day of shopping - all for a mere $5). We shopped at my favorite place - 168 in Divisoria (the China town of the Philippines). I love it there! Clothes, Shoes, Purses galore! I didn't buy as many clothes as I did last time but did add quite a few items to my summer wardrobe. 😊 Jimmy, the driver, found a DVD/Kareoke machine that had 39,600 songs, song book and a mic for P1,700. Thats around $37. $37! hehe. That'll give you an idea of how far your dollar will go shopping here.

This time around I really wanted to bring home some of the native/tribal home decor but much of what I wanted was too heavy to take home. They reduced the pounds per bag allowwed on the flight from 70 to 50. Mom, Nancy and I were maxed out on our weight on the way home. I am pretty sure one of my
Nancy, Ann & INancy, Ann & INancy, Ann & I

@ Warehouse
bags was 7 pounds overweight but the porter told the lady who was checking us in that our luggage was really light so she didn't even check. 😊 We gave him a tip - we got lucky. Next time I go I will just pack 2 pairs of flip flops, a pair of gym shoes, one pair of jeans and some tanks and just buy everything else out there. The problem this time was the trips were scheduled so close together that there was no time to really shop until the end of our trip so I needed to bring more clothes. Mom says that if all the sibs go next time, between all of us, we will have a ton of weight to work with so we'll be okay and can bring back whatever we want. 😊 Plus Mom wants to take a trip to Bankok and Vietnam next time we go. I hear shopping in Bankok is even better! I am in!

Currently, Mom and I are fighting of jet lag...which we both see to be failing each other at. I was up until about 4:00am last night. I finally took some benadryl at about 3:30am to
DivisoriaDivisoriaDivisoria

A view down the street in Divisoria (China town of Manila)
try to make me sleep. Mom woke me up at about 9:30 this morning. Rose and JJ are coming home today so hopefully them being here will help us stay awake. Mom wants to go grocery shopping - I think too just to aviod going back to sleep. Coming home with jet lag is so much harder than going there with it. I don;t have much more time to adjust before I go back to work - hopefully I can get it straight before then.

I hope you all have been entertained by my blogs and I appreciate you all tuning in to my trip home 2009. I'll be heading out again in 2011...or sooner if I can 😊

Until then, this is Peanut Signing off.

xoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Worst Smelling fruit on the planetWorst Smelling fruit on the planet
Worst Smelling fruit on the planet

We stopped at a Palenke on the way home from Divisoria to get Lanzones (so good) and we found Durian!
Being SillyBeing Silly
Being Silly

@ Tides in BF, Metro Manila. Not pictured: Makie and Mark.


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb