Monday, January 7, 2008 back in Manila


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm back in Manila. I've been too tired to blog lately but I have so many things I'd like to write about. The thing is, I can write them all down and sort them out when I get back, but usually, when I get back, I don't feel like re-writing anything. So I'll write about some initial impressions, I guess.

I'm back in Manila now, in Malate, across the street where I originally stayed. I highly recommend Malate Pensionne. It's in between an outdoor bar and a Starbucks. A room with twin beds, a/c, TV and decent bathroom is $42. Not bad at all.

Saturday morning, my friend and I woke up in our room itching like crazy. It was my last day in Puerto Galera/White Beach, I thought I'd been good with my budget so I decided to split a hotel room with my friend. We stayed at the Marco Vincent, a real fancy hotel near the beach. It was $133/night but it had a swimming pool, breakfast included, luxurious bathroom, hot water, etc. etc. I had to do it. It was great though compared to the places we've been staying. I thought it was worth it.

Saturday was great. The weather was perfect. It was hot but not humid. We went to the other side of the beach, beyond some rocks we had to scramble. The other side was just beautiful. It was quite, there was one resort, Tamaraw Falls I think, it was just awesome. I felt like another person there. No worries, no materials, no nothing, it was almost spiritual. I laid out in the sun, listened to music and napped for a few minutes. So far it's been the highlight of my trip. I felt like a different person.

That night my friend and his brother and I hit the beach party scene again. We got drunk on Mindoro Slings. We turned in about 3am.

The next day we split. I headed back to Batangas. I should have waited before getting on the boat so quick. The hangover, the sea and the heat did not make a good mix. I almost threw up. But I did make it to the pier OK.

The pier was something else. It was hot, humid and crowded. Lots of people selling stuff. There was no way I could have stayed there with my stomach grumbling. I took a tricycle to the SM Mall. I got ripped off. The fare, I found out later was usually 15 pesos. The guy asked for 150 pesos (roughly $3) and I gladly paid and tipped him. Now that I think about it, the ferry cost 180 pesos and it was an hour. But looking back, had the guy asked for $20, I would have done it. I was miserable. It's all part of the adventure I guess.

At the mall, I had a chance to unwind and relax. My aunts picked me up and we drove back to Manila. They just happened to be in town.

I spent last night at my aunt's house in Manila. Today we did some shopping at Greenhills Mall. I can't shake off the beach. In the city I've been walking around the malls like a zombie, terribly missing the beach.

Tomorrow I'm heading to Tarlac to see some family.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb