Day Seven- Maybe the worst day of my life


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Luzon » Metro Manila » Makati City
December 20th 2007
Published: December 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

An Extreme Low Point In My Life



Finally we get to go home!! We woke up early (5 AM ish) and checked out. The front desk attendant was sleeping in a chair and we had to ring the bell to wake her. I still wasnt feeling well and sipped some water before I left. When we got to the airport we had to wait in so many lines. I started to get REALLY sick. I finally asked a guard where a bathroom was and I almost blacked out trying to find it. Everything got all fuzzy. I threw up in my mouth and finally made it to the BR. I was scared because the BR wasn't really convenioent to get to and dad was waiting in line (one of many) to check in. I had to sid down on the suitcase and run to the BR like three times. When we made it to immigration the lines werent nearly s bad leaving the country as going in was, thankfully. It was very hot also, which didn't help my sickness. I sat right down on the floor in the line and scooted along, I didn't care. It was better than passing out. We finally made it through. I was feeling a little bit better and was super glad to just get right on the plane. I just needed to sit down.

My whole body was tense and sore from sleeping on hard beds and from being stressed out. I only threw up about three times on the plane but it was the kind that makes you feel better. Thank goodness for air sickness bags and flight attendants to take them away! I slept pretty much the whole way through the first flight. I watched movies durring the second and napped the third. My body hurt a lot from sitting and I had to get up and walk around and stretch every so often. Luckily I got to sit by dad on the way home. It actually went pretty fast I guess.

We got my sister Robin some cool souvenirs in Japan. It was so nice to be back in America. We thanked the customs agent for speaking english. I think he thought we were narrow minded. I don't care. All of our bags made it through, I was so glad. Sondra picked us up from the airport. I am so glad to be home. I love America and I am grateful for my family, home, school, car, friends and so many other things.

Here are some random thoughts I had during the trip:



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Rice SalesmanThe Rice Salesman
The Rice Salesman

This man brings rice to your door and you pay him
Across the StreetAcross the Street
Across the Street

This is the hangout across from phill's apt.
LillypadsLillypads
Lillypads

In Fort Santiago
IntramurosIntramuros
Intramuros

In the walled city
Young LoveYoung Love
Young Love

These kids were in Intramuros


28th December 2007

SUch Fun!
Oh heck! I love how descriptive your travel journal is! I almost feel as though I went with you! Glad you had a good time and that it makes you want to travel more cuz I am always in need of a good travel partner! (AND I speak spanish :)
3rd January 2008

toilets
I think a lot of Americans have a hard idea understanding just how much money we have. The Gross Domestic Product per capita in the Philippines is $5000. The GDP per capita in the United States is 43,800. You, as a student working part time, make much more than most of the 97,000,000 people living in the Philippines. In fact an American below the poverty level (in the US) making $10,000 per year are richer than most the people on this planet, or who ever lived. https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/rp.html I hope you get to travel much more and get sick less!
4th January 2008

Wow! You look like your mom!!
Thanks for the descriptive travelog, Becky. Sorry you were so ill. Thankful for the things you learned. When I saw your picture, I had to gasp. I thought I was looking at Marion!! You even sound like her. It was heartwarming and made me feel warm and fuzzy all over. No pictures of the wedding of Mr. and Mrs. Phil Willis. Do you have any to send? Take care and God Bless. Love, Aunt Doris

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb