California Burritos


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Daet
December 10th 2009
Published: December 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I want you all to go eat one, maybe two, right now. I am so damn hungry all the time living out here, I find myself fantasizing about these tasty morsels almost daily. Let me give you a little insight into my diet. These are the foods that I typically eat out here: eggs, rice, potatoes, carrots, onion, garlic (in everything!), rice noodles and tuna. Occasionally we go to town and get a fast food hamburger or a Shakeys (remember Shakeys?!?! alive and well in the 'pines!!) pizza. Now, the tuna is pulled from the ocean in front of my eyes and costs, literally, less than 3 dollars for a decent sized, whole, delicious tuna, but as you can see my diet is not very diverse. Oh ya, theres also this delicious philippine dish called La Ing (i dont know how to spell it, but thats how it sounds) which is basically some leaves (kinda spinachy) boiled in coconut milk with some dried fish and/or shrimp. From this great, diverse diet, I draw usually 1-2 meals a day, with some bread and coconut jam or bananas or oranges as snacks in between. god damn, instant coffee is great to crush hunger pangs. Combine that with tons of solo surf sessions and, needless to say, I am losing some size around my middle, in the ol belly area. body fat is definitely a luxury around here. That being the case, I want you all to go out and have a California Burrito and dedicate it to me and my little gut that once was. Or Carne Asade fries....oh lordy, those are good as hell too. mmmm, or a #1 animal style from in-n-out.

Plus side, I have gotten some greeeeeeat waves the last few weeks. A few of them have been captured on film and I will upload them once I remember to put the files on a thumbdrive and actually drag that out to the internet cafe with me. OK, now I need to go get some food, seriously...maybe a pancake.

GO GET SOME MEXICAN FOOD!!

PS you know whats a bitch? In SD I had some wooooonderul lumpia, thought it was little deep fried morsels of jesus himself....guess what, I get to the philippines and NO DAMN LUMPIA ANYWHERE!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb