Chitwan


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
April 25th 2010
Published: April 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Nameste!

I tried to blog yesterday but unfortunately it didn't work. The comps here are not very reliable!
I arrive in Chitwan on monday, to a little village called Padam Pokari. I am staying with a Nepali family who are really nice. There is a big of a language problem at times but its okay and we manage to get by! We eat the traditional Nepali dish daal bhat twice a day every day which is all ready getting to be a bit tiresome but my host mum's cooking is really nice so its okay at the moment!
The village is really rural and most people are farmers. Its a nice change from busy KTM but a muh harder way of living! Toileting has been an issue but I won't go into that!!
Currently though I am at a safari resort in the national park and staying in quite nice accomodation with a western toilet so I'm making the most of it! You come to appreciate the little things....
I'm doing an elephant safari here which is pretty cool. Was on the back of an elephant this morning in the river and got soaked. Was a lot of fun and definately needed it as its very hot here! (40 degrees!)
Speaking of which I am coping pretty well with, but it can be pretty stifling esp at night.
There are many interesting creatures... and some not so interesting as terrifying. Scorpions, big spiders, giant cockroaches...
It was funny the other night when we were getting ready for bed inspecting our room and nets for insects... ended up getting a bit hysterical. I share a room with a lady called Maggie, who is a nurse from the US. We're pretty much together all the time but she's really cool and we're having fun.

The health post has been really challenging for several reasons but mainly language barrier. But its forcing me to speak Nepali and I have just about mastered a basic medcial history! Its also challenging because they seem to be set in their ways at the health post and don't seem to appreciatre having westerners come to help all that much. Which suprised us and annoyed us as we're here to help and did pay to be here. We ended up going to another health post after the first few days which is better/ I can understand it in a way... they have their way of doing things and then some white people show up and tell them what to do. But they honestly do some shocking things in the way of health care. We're trying to be tactful and educate a little. It wasn't what I thought it would be for sure.

Anyway I better sign off for now. Going into the jungle on elephant back this afternoon which should be fun =)

love,
Sam

Advertisement



25th April 2010

poop cabins?
Lol - I was soooooo looking forward to hearing about your poop-cabin experiences ;) Glad to hear you are being exposed to this alternative way of life - again, shows us we should appreciate the small stuff. Good news on getting to go to Chitwan! That's exciting. Hope it continues to go well. Soooo lucky to be riding on an elephant!! I mean, how cool must have that been?? As for your ability to ALREADY master a basic medical history in Nepali?! That's incredible. I'm still struggling in English. Shoot. FML. Enjoy the next elephant ride - remember to take it all in, helps to recall it again for the future ;) xo
27th April 2010

Smiling at your blogs!
Hi Sweetie, I have been reading your blogs and very much enjoying them. It sounds facinating out there - both in a good and bad way. I can imagine the way of life is very very different as you have said and i think your very brave to cope with the wildlife! I know i would be terrified of being around huge spiders and scorpions. But your much braver than me so i know you will be ok! Elephant safari thou - wow! I love elephants so i am very jealous. Very wise animals i believe. I can understand that you might be home sick now and again then, it is a big change for you. I am thinking of you lots. Take good care and I will keep reading :) Love you xx

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb