Last day in Kathmandu before placement


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
April 18th 2010
Published: April 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey,

Its 10:00pm here in the wonderful city of Kathmandu. I had a really good day today. I had my final lesson in basic Nepali language this morning. Ended up chatting with our teacher for ages about Nepal, its culture, government, religion etc. It was so interesting. Every day I am more and more facinated by this place. I just cannot say how different it is to home. There is so much I could say but I'd be here all night.
But I'm really beginning to love it. Its beautiful and hideous all at the same time. Its shocking and moving. And most of all very humbling. Here, electrical power cuts (called 'load shedding') are the norm (twice a day), they do not have clean water, many children are homeless, traffic jams are the norm, health care is ridiculously unavailable unless you have money, when they get sick its often a choice between eating or paying for care. I don't want to hear anyone ever complain about the NHS again. People are so so poor. It is one of the poorest countries in the world. But they are amazing people... things often go wrong but they take it in their stride. They are happy and friendly.
I know we see places like Nepal on the news, poverty and slum children but it just doesn't seem real to us because we're so far away from it. Seeing human beings in such awful conditions is really beyond what I can put into words but I hope I never forget how fortunate I am. I hope that when I'm stressing about something mundane, that seems so 'important' I can think back to my experiences here and rather than wish I had more or that things were different, I am able to be reverent and garteful.

Anyway I could go on but you get the picture. I don't really get much time to write so I always seem to be rushing this as I've been super busy - which is a good thing.
Boring bits just for my mum: I am eating well and feeling good. Sleep is okay but its very noisy because my window has no glass in it so I can hear everything. But I am getting some sleep and have not felt tired at all. By western standards my room is not that great but I don't really mind!

Today I went to the famous Monkey temple. Its another one of KTM's giant Buddhist stupas and temples and monkeys have made it their home! Also went to the most giant Buddha statue in the world!
I am trying to take pictures and capture the essence of Nepal but due to a combination of my poor photo taking and poor conditions due smog they aren't coming out very well.

Tomorrow morning at 6am I go to Chitwan in the Terrai where I will be doing my placement. Looking forward to that!

I don't know when I'll next be able to write - it may be at the weekend.
I hope everyone is well. Hope studying/med school/elective/uni/work is all going well depending on what you're doing! =D

love,
Sam xx

Advertisement



19th April 2010

Wow
Sammy what a fabulous experience you sound like youre having. Although the hardships that you witness must be hard to cope with. At least you're out there doing something wonderful and positive..... so proud!! Hope to see you soon. Look after yourself. xx
25th April 2010

inspiring
So exciting! I am really glad to hear you are gaining this insight and perspective into life, and the (mis)fortunes faced by many in Nepal, England and all over the world. We definitely need to be grateful for what we have - never lose sight of the bigger picture. Words like these will certainly get you far in life, and despite your camera not working the greatest, I know that these life-changing images you are being exposed to will remain with you for the rest of your life. Sending you lots of love, hugs, slaps on the ass and then some. ~ Your 'other' bf xo

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb