Nameste!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
April 16th 2010
Published: April 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Namaste! (Hello in Nepali)

So, this is my first entry on arriving in Kathmandu. I'm feeling refreshed following a very good nights sleep (mum you'll be pleased to hear). I was suprised at how quiet it was!
I'll get the negative bits out the way first.... my journey was a bit traumatic. The flight to Bahrain was quite pleasant, but I did not sleep due to my excited anticipation. Had a 5 hour stop over in Bahrain which did seem to pass quite quickly but towards the end I found myself in an uncomfortable situation. While waiting to board I was surrounded by about 100 Nepali men (who I later found out were returning from working in Quatar) but they seem to find me most curious. By this point I was tired and ratty and felt quite uncomfortable when they tried to take pictures of me. I'm not sure if they were used to seeing westerners, or travelling by plane because they were quite excited when boarding and were taking pictures of it.

Arrival to Kathmandu proved to be quite a culture shock and I felt completely out of my comfort zone, particularly when no one was there to meet me! Bit of a cock-up! My thoughts were 'don't panic, don't panic.... it'll be ok. BREATHE'. A man came up to me who seemed to be organising all the taxis and helped me to call hope and home. But then he wanted money out of me for that! I didn't have any on me, but he tried to make me go to an ATM, which wasn't working! I wanted to cry but the person from Hope and Home was still on the phone when this was happening and told him off for trying to get money out of me.
I then got in my taxi... alone except for this man who was helping me to my guest house (and the driver). He was very friendly and spoke good English, chatting to me non-stop and trying to offer me tours and telling me how he could help me plan my time here. He suggested we drop by an ATM on the way but I was quite firm and said no because a rep from Hope and Home was to meet me and would pay the taxi.
I'm learning quickly that you need to be firm here because people will try and get money out of you if you're a tourist.

Driving through Kathmandu was an experience to say the least! I did fear for my life several times when we almost collided head-on with oncomming vehicles! Driving on the wrong side seems to be the norm, people don't care, constantly cutting each other up and beeping their horns. Its heavily congested and they don't really have traffic lights, just wardens trying to gain some control over the chaos. Its also very very poor. A completely different world to back home.

To my releif I made it to my guest house in not too much time and the rep from Hope and Home was there to meet me. He was very friendly and sorted everything out, then sat down with me to talk about what I'd be doing. My guest house is quite nice and the people that run it are too.

For the next few days I will be staying here. We'll be having some lessons in basic language and culture, and then in evening some sight seeing. (I can't wait to go to the monkey temple!) Apparantly there are 12 other voluneers, but I'm yet to meet them. I think on sunday I'll be going to wherever I'll be doing my elective, which I hope is Chitwan - but I've been warned about the heat there!

I did feel quite home-sick last night, but I think it was in part because of exhaustion, the culture shock and experiences on arrival. So don't worry mum!
I am going to be open to the experiences that await me and try to go with the flow, and I think at times I won't want to be here and will really miss home but its all valuable experience. I get the impression you have to be patient as the Nepali way of life is quite laid back and things don't always run smoothly. But I will take care of myself (mum, Mike).

Well, I'll say goodbye for now. I may write again later this evening if I get the chance. Hope everyone is well, and having a great time if you're on your elective.

love,
Sam

p.s the views are stunning

Advertisement



16th April 2010

Hooray!
So very glad to hear you are safe! Sounds like an adventure and a half already!! Take care looking forward to your next blogg. Love you lots!!xxx
16th April 2010

glad youre ok
blimey sam i wondered if they be there to meet you glad you had a good sleep ihope somebodys going to be with you when travelling youre right its going to be a fantastic experience me and cats are fine have you heard about volcano in iceland its spuing ash and this is blowing over great britain and all planes have been grounded as its dangerous for the engines so good job you didnt go day later looking forward to hearing from you again love mum xxx
16th April 2010

phone
am going to ring virgin so i can ring you regually on one of their phone deals xxx
25th April 2010

keep ur head high
Don't let them bitches bring you down! ATM eh? I'll show them an ATM dahhhhling. So - glad to hear you are safe and despite the minor setbacks, you are doing great :) I can hear the optimism in your voice so that's always re-assuring. Looking forward to hearing more about your expedition xox

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb