Before I go


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
December 28th 2008
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am off on this adventure in a few days so I figure I should learn how to navigate my blog before I leave as well as explain what I will be doing, where I will be, etc. Through a friend recommending Global Vision International, I did some research and decided on a 10-week Volunteer Travel program in Nepal. I don't know many of the specifics as we are told once we get there so I can't give too much detail. I leave on Thursday and arrive in Kathmandu (via London and New Dehli) on Saturday. Once I arrive I will stay in a hostel and meet my group then begin the orientation phase on Sunday. I will have a 2 week period of culture/language lessons, treking and white water rafting before I get placed in one of four regions to begin project. Each of the regions has a variety of volunteer responsibilities so I am hoping to be placed where I can work with children and ideally teach them English. My guess is you're wondering how I will communicate with them...I think my patience will grow in finding the answer. I'm really excited to get there and begin this amazing opportunity (even after Joe and Becky tried to scare me off reading the various foods I will come across...stuffed lung, raw steak with the skin attached, or my favorite-fried spinal bone marrow). Thanks for the support and I will do my best in updating this as much as I can!

Here is more information about my trip:
http://www.gviusa.com/projects/asia/nepal/volunteer-project-nepal/home


Happy Holidays!

-Ellie

Advertisement



30th December 2008

before you go
Now that i know where nepal is, I can pay closer attention to your whereabouts!!! As soon as you get there, check out the wine so we can decide how soon to join you. Love you ellie....see you at lunch.
30th December 2008

Love you
Miss you Already. I'm so excited and proud of you. You're the best and I admire your willingness to get out there and do your part to make this world a better place. Life, Love and The Pursuit of Happiness!!! Te Amo..
4th January 2009

you have not done a very good job yet in updating this. THank God for your mother. I have gotten a good briefing as of this morning at 9 but i do expect more of you in the upcoming weeks. So glad it has all gone well so far. I am really proud of you. What an excursion. Love you
7th January 2009

Address
Hey Boone, are you safe and sound? Can you send me your address when you get the chance? I want to send you some love! Miss you
8th January 2009

Are you there? Did you make it safe? Hope you are having a great time! Can't wait to hear all about it! Miss you and love you!
9th January 2009

Just saying hi!
Hi, honey, I look forward to hearing an update of your journey when you have a chance to make an entry. I hope all is well and I think of you all the time. I am anxious to hear what your placement is. I hope to talk to you this weekend. I love you always, Mom
20th February 2009

Missing you at Imation
Hi Ellie! I can't believe it's already been 7 weeks since you left! I hope all's been well over there and that you've had some great experiences. There've been lots of changes here at Imation but some how I'm still hanging on. I've got great admiration for what you're doing and am really looking forward to hearing about your experiences upon your return. Take care of yourself!
2nd April 2009

Saying Hello
Hi Honey, Joey sent me your Blog and I was reading of your adventures. THey will surely remain with you for your entire life, will impact how yu view everrything in the future and have altered your life. There aren't too many other events in one's life that can do the same. We can talk about this when you return. Be safe and know how much I love you and am proud of you. Dad

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb