Nepal... with love


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
November 7th 2005
Published: November 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Nepal...
I left home 9 months ago, not knowing where I was going to travel (beyond New Zealand). Nepal was one of the countries on my list, but the list was long. Going to Australia against all my plans voided the list anyway. But when I had the chance to extend my travel I decided to go to Nepal, see the Himalayas, trek a bit. I didn't know I would fall in love. I read again now my "end of New Zealand" summary post. I wrote a lot about nature. Needless to say, Nepal has extraordinarily strikingly beautiful nature, but in Nepal I also fell in love with the people. Of course, Kiwis and Aussies are great, but they are Westerners like me, nothing exciting. The Nepali people took my heart by being different but surprisingly similar in the same time. Some of them simply touched my sense of compassion, but I have seen poverty in other places and didn't feel the same. I enjoyed the simplicity in the village, the ambitious yet relaxed manner of the city. Different Nepalis touched my heart in different ways, but whatever it was, it made me want to do whatever I can to help them. They deserve more than they have.

I spent the last hours in Nepal visiting a school in Kathmandu. Snowland Ranag school was founded 4 years ago by a guy named Orgyan Dorje to give hope to kids from poor, sometimes broken families, in remote areas, where education is rare and poor. 146 kids aged 4-16 are given new possibilities, new future. Education is the future. It's a boarding school, the kids get everything from books to food to medical care, yet the families pay nothing. The budget comes from donors, mainly in France and Australia. Go look at their website, http://www.snowlandschool.edu.np. Maybe you'll be inspired to open your heart too.

That was my first visit to Nepal. I feel it won't be the last.





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



7th November 2005

wow
wow i would love to vist nepal, u left home not knowing were u were goin so which countrys did u not need visas and how hard did u find it to get into countrys which u need visas, gareth
7th November 2005

מרגש
התוכן והתמונות... חוויות של חיים זה העושר האמיתי ענת. לא הרכוש שצוברים. אלא החוויות והזכרונות. ואת עשירה...

Tot: 0.339s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb