Everest Base Camp


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
November 3rd 2006
Published: December 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

031106A031106A031106A

Airstrip at Lukla, Nepal
Up at the crack of dawn to catch flight back from Lukla to Kathmandu, although we didn't actually have a set flight time as such. You are almost processed on a first come first fly basis, although we would have been booked to fly at some time that day. Don't pretend to know how the system works & being that I am back in Nepal, have learned not to ask. I imagined takeoff to be quite scary, as the runway looked about as long as a cricket pitch. Took some footage of an earlier flight taking off, which only made me feel worse, as he only just lifted off before the end of the runway. It actually turned out to be quited fun, but I think thats because everybody else seemed really excited about it, rather than petrified like me.

Was good to get back to Kathmandu & even better to retrieve our stored luggage in tact - after a bit of searching mind you. Sorted out all our manky clothes & whilst Sam had a shower I took them all to the washing place. My shower was fantastic; took a while to get the temperature sorted, but once I
031106B031106B031106B

Funky wine rack at Rumdoodles, Thamel, Nepal
did, I didn't want to get out. Had to wash, then scrub myself to get all the built up dead skin off. Washed my hair twice & shaved until my razor went blunt - well almost. Managed to rub off more skin with scratchy hotel towel & had to rinse off again just to ensure I was squeaky clean. Luxurious!

Lunched at Third Eye restaurant with Curtis, Lance & Sam & continued on there drinking away the afternoon whilst Sam went shopping. Returned to guesthouse for sober & freshen up before heading out to Rumdoodles for final group dinner. Same band was playing as last time, but the atmosphere just wasn't the same. We were right next to the dancefloor, which wasn't the problem. I think they had an older crowd in & played a different music set to suit.; which unfortunately didn't suit us. It was ok, but I was ready for home by the end of dinner. Winded up at Sam's Bar after discovering the Happy Buddha next door to Rumdoodles was a bit of a dive. I only stayed for a couple, the group wasn't real lively & I just couldn't get into it, so I
031106C031106C031106C

Sam, Curtis, Haleigh & Richard at Rumdoodles, Thamel, Nepal
left around midnight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

031106D031106D
031106D

Everest Base Camp tour foot at Rumdoodles, Thamel, Nepal


Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 32; qc: 166; dbt: 0.1424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb