Everest Base Camp


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Lukla
November 2nd 2006
Published: December 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

021106A021106A021106A

Boys on last night, Lukla, Nepal
Today was our last day of trekking, which is just as well really because I'm sick of all this up & down, up & down, up & down business. Trip from Pakding to Lukla was only about four hours, so it wasn't too bad, frustrating though because I just wanted to be finished with it all. Once Drew's borrowed runners were off, I assured my feet that our deal was definately on & I will not be putting them in anything but thongs (flip flops) for as long as humanly possible. Their part (my feet) of the deal is to not let my weeping blisters get infected, thus resulting in their amputation...

Had a few hours to kill in the afternoon, but was unfortunately broke, so we visited the Porters Progress Association & watched a documentary they guy in charge had made. It had aired on the BBC many years ago, highlighting the extremely poor conditions porters work under & was very interesting. Hayley, Drew, Sam & I played cards until dinner & afterwards we presented our porters & guides with their tips & thanked them for the great job they'd all done in getting us back safely.

Headed
021106B021106B021106B

Group photo on last night, Lukla, Nepal
to the pool hall after dinner for two beers (last of our money), then went back to the teahouse for an early night. Got back & Hayley had bought a bottle of whiskey, so we joined her & the boys for a drink. Much popcorn, spicy buffalo & whiskey later, we all stumbled upstairs, cursing our early flight back to Kathmandu. I only had a couple of driks, but Hayley was pretty tanked & kept ordering bottles all night - I shudder to think what her bar tab is going to be!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb