Ace Ventura Drove me to Sirubari


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
April 22nd 2014
Published: May 3rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

My bus to Sirubari.



I prayed to myself as the bus slowly made its way down the mountain side. I wondered how safe it was for a bus to be on this mountain side path, but you know how it is in Nepal. As we stop for a 20 minute break, I'd realized that the passenger next to me had moved to the back row. I was a little curious as to why, but not enough to investigate. I later found out why as I pulled my backpack up and found a puddle of vomit on the floor next to me. It didn't surprise me since a lot of people were throwing up throughout the ride. It was more like a roller coaster ride then it was a bus ride. As we made it to Sirubari I kissed my bead necklace that I am alive. There were't any guesthouses in this small town of 42 houses. When I'd thought my adventure had ended, it had only begun. Sirubari is a small village about 6-7 hours from Pokhara, depending on the amount of stops taken by the bus driver. Great place to get some rest away from the tourist crowd.










"This morning after breakfast, Kashi told me he was taking his granddaughter to Pokhara tomorrow to buy school uniforms. He insisted that I should stay another day and come with them. After thinking for a couple of minutes, I decided to stay. I think most barriers between human interactions stems from lack of understanding of each others. Whether it be language, cultures, customs or lifestyle. Just because the other person is not acting or reacting the same way as you do or how you'd expect, doesn't mean they don't share your feelings or thoughts. The essential key to a constructive and working relationship is a deep understanding of one another."
Journal Entry: 04.24.2017


Sirubari below.

My Homestay for the visit.

Another angle of the Homestay.

The making and distillation of "local wine."

Future fried chickens.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

FriendsFriends
Friends

The couples were home for some kind of ceremony. I was invited to partake.
FriendsFriends
Friends

I met these Nepalese couple who were visiting Nepal. They work in Israel as caregiver. They were cool and proud people.
DashiDashi
Dashi

Dashi opened his home to me. I stayed for a couple of days. Dashi served in the Nepalese army and was stationed in Singapore. He is living off of his pension. His daughter and her daughter lives with him. I noticed that a lot of Nepalese men are away from home, working overseas.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb