Pokhara


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
April 20th 2014
Published: May 3rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Paddle boat rental are 750 Rubies a day.



Pokhara is a lakeside town at the base of the Himalayan mountain range. Local Nepalese come here to relax. After a jeep ride down the Annapurna Circuit, I met a young Nepalese guy. We were waiting for the same bus to Pokhara. He looked to be in his early 20s. He persuaded me to come stay at the Guesthouse that he works at, Bonny Guesthouse. Not having a place to stay in mind, I agreed.



Took a stroll around town...



Where there is art, there is life...



















One of the most pleasant soap I've ever used.



Bonny's Hotel, Pokhara.


"Before I left this morning, I had a talk with Razu. The person who runs Bonny's Hotel. He'd told me his story. Of how he met his wife and how they were told by doctors that they were unable to have a child. He then went back to his hometown and had a talk with a Lama. The Lama told him he would have one son. They had a son. They named him Buddha. This story made me realized that religion/spirituality and science sometimes contradicts one another. What science say is impossible sometimes spirituality has the answer to and vis versa. I believe that we need a balance of both science and spirituality. Life is balance."
Journal Entry: 04.22.2014


Downtown Pokhara.



Buddha getting his bath.



Pokhara sunset.







Where to?







Simplistic beauty that is Nepal.



My hike up to Shanti (World Peace) Stupa.






"As I observed the elderly lady rowing that boy to sleep, I'm reminded of my nanny. I miss her. I wish I was able to visit her while she was still alive. She raised and cared for us, as if we were her own. The 5 years old boy named Buddha, at Bonny Hotel, Pokhara. If only he knew what life has in store for him. If only we all did. I was once five and in his shoes. Had all the affection and attention any kid could ever asked for. Then one day four years later....life as I knew it would never be the same. The journey that is life...."
Journal Entry: 04.19.2014


Shanti (World Peace) Stupa, Pokhara.



Visitors admiring the Himalayan range.



Overlooking Pokhara.


















Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb