The ship has run aground


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
December 16th 2011
Published: November 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Dinesh, my BossDinesh, my BossDinesh, my Boss

A very nice man who we will both miss
Geo: 27.5, 83.45

For those who are not yet aware the project has run into a sand bank. We didnt really have all the compnents needed to do the project onboard which was the reason we ran aground and hence don't have any choice but to head home. We will head home via Sumatra to kill some time as flights are not readily available at this time of year. If you are wondering how we feel about the situation I can only refer to a conversation I had with a Buddhist Monk of all people.

As you are travelling you probably feel that you are out of your comfort zone. I agreed that this was the case. Here in East the people have much physical suffering. There is often not enough food, clothing or a warm shelter and the work in the fields is very hard for them. I had to agree with that. But in the West you have much mental suffering. People's lives as so busy, working, attending to family obligations, racing around for children's activities and worrying about gaining material things that you suffer much depression, anxiety and there is no peace of mind. So the Comfort Zone you
Sharing DinnerSharing DinnerSharing Dinner

Dinesh, his wife Gyanu, Darren and I got on pretty well and had a good laugh
know back in the West is not really so comfortable for you after all.

Never a truer word had been spoken.

Are we looking forward to going home, Yes we are, will we miss stuff here, Yes we will….


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Dinesh, Gyanu, Susan and IDinesh, Gyanu, Susan and I
Dinesh, Gyanu, Susan and I

Dinner at the local restaurant Susan is a Nepalise man's name
Walking past the neibours gateWalking past the neibours gate
Walking past the neibours gate

I shall not miss this guy who I am sure waits for me then gives street attack a whole new meaning
Shopping our local marketShopping our local market
Shopping our local market

Baskets of Mandarin
Who is that at the Chai StallWho is that at the Chai Stall
Who is that at the Chai Stall

I snapped this one off at the market, he looks very relaxed like one of the locals
Coles fruit and veg sectionColes fruit and veg section
Coles fruit and veg section

I will miss this, the vegies are picked fresh and the cauliflower I bought cost 10 rupiah's about 12 cents.


16th December 2011

merry xmas will come and see you when you get home
16th December 2011

Bummer. Indeed. But looking forward to seeing you both soon. xxx
16th December 2011

What a pity, but I'm sure another (ad)venture awaits. Enjoy your travels home. Wishes and love for Christmas and the New year.
16th December 2011

Looks terrific - but a might chilly!
17th December 2011

... such is life...Look forward to seeing you back here xo
18th December 2011

Such a shame for you both and a shame for the Nepalese you were trying to aid. Travel back safely.
18th December 2011

Looks like Darren is fitting right in. Hard earned rest after carrying one of those dokkos ??
20th December 2011

Bummer indeed. Look forward to hearing about it all and seeing you both again.

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb