Longest journey yet...


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
November 24th 2011
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 28.2636, 83.9724

After a long, long 26 hour trip from Darjeeling to Pokhara with Tony, Janine and Lynne, and two blow outs later... I arrive in Pokhara, Nepal's second largest city thankfully in one piece.

We got jeep from Darjeeling to Silguri which had a blow out coming down the mountain, which was changed on a very precarious part of the road side, we then got the bus to Panitanki, walked to the Indian Immigration to get our leaving stamps, and walked over an incredible bridge, and into Nepal.

We went through an arch confirming our arrival to Nepal, and we checked into Border Control, I got a 3 month visa, although I'll probably not stay here that long. We then jumped a bus from the border town direct to Pokhara bypassing Kathmandu altogether but it was the roughest journey ever. I kept getting tossed out my seat in the bus because of the potholes in the road, which ultimately caused the second blow out of the day, it was nuts.

My first sight of the Nepal Himalaya mountains from Pokhara was breathtaking, the stunning Fish Tail Mountain apparently never climbed as it's sacred, is majestic and right in front of us. I'm looking forward to staying here few days before I think of starting trekking the Annapurna Circuit, which is a daunting prospect considering how unfit I feel. But I'm looking forward to being up close and personal to the mountains, and taking on the extreme challenge which lies ahead.

Pokhara is a stunning town which sits on the beautiful Fewa Lake, there are para gliders soaring above the lake which leave from Sarangot, looks incredible. The World Peace Pagoda sits on top of the hill opposite the town and looks impressive from here. To get to it you row over the lake in one of the brightly coloured boats which look a bit like canooes and climb up for around an hour to get there, apparently the views are well worth it.

There are many people out on the lake in these tiny boats, everyone seems to just ponder the day away rowing up and down the lake, taking in the scenery. It is a very calm and peaceful place, and no comparison to India, and I instantly take to Nepal, and the Nepali people, they are so friendly and open, would do anything to help you out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



27th January 2013

I love this photograph, it looks like an actual painting instead of a quick snap!
22nd November 2013

That bus ride is one i will never ever forget hahaha we got some crazy air in that back seat!! A little sore at the end must say but what a beautiful place love Nepal!! All feels so long ago now :) Safe travels ! Your living life how we all
should :)!!
22nd November 2013

It really was a fun bus trip... honestly you got thrown clean out of the seat/bed on more than one ocassion. It's funny looking back on previous blogs some I've hardly said anything whereas now I'm using it for not only my photos in case
my camera gets lost but it really is a great for remembering details if I keep it up to date. It was such a pleasure meeting you guys... another day soon I'll get to meet you and your handsome husband... many many congrats on the wedding! Miss ya honey xxxxxx

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb