Last few days


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
May 26th 2009
Published: May 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This will probably be my last blog seeing as I shall be home on saturday!

I am feeling back to my normal self now, so much better than I was this time last week! I haven't done a huge amount since we got back from trekking, just lazed around the hotel reading my book and spent time out on the lake. We rented bikes one day and went for a bike ride over to the other lake in Pokhara, it was worth the bike ride but I wasn't saying that on the way back when it became really hot. One of the other girl's bike also broke just as we started back, the chain literally snapped in half but then I guess thats what you get for hiring a bike for the day for 100 rupees (the equivalent of about 90p!). Thankfully there was a bike shop about 15 minute walk away and the guy in there fixed it for no charge, quite possibly the first time no-one has tried to rip us off in Nepal just because we're foreigners!

I visited the other girls at one of the orphanages that they are now volunteering at as well, its an orphanage for street children and its a really nice place they've got going there, getting the kids off the streets and giving them food and clothes, sending them to school and trying to find their families and the children seem genuinely happy there. Its probably a good job they have their full quota of volunteers otherwise I would have ended up spending more time there helping out knowing me!

Oh, but I did go paragliding this morning which was a pretty amazing experience and I'm so glad that I did it, even if I did get quite motion sick towards the end! We went up to Sarangkot which is supposedly one of the best places to paraglide in the world, at least thats what the guide book says! The views were pretty spectacular even though we couldn't quite see the mountains because of the clouds, but I figured I saw them all last week so it doesn't matter too much.

Anyhow, thats pretty much my last big adventure for Nepal done. Tomorrow I shall try and visit the world peace pagoda and then I've done pretty much everything there is to do in Pokhara. Back to Kathmandu on thursday and then fly home on friday evening. Time has flown by, its been an amazing 7 weeks but I'm pretty much ready to come home, can't wait to see everyone when I get back!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb