15th Day in Pokhara


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
October 27th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well!!! Today was one of the most boring days ever!!! The only thing that saved the day was that the children looked fantastic! Why? They were all dressed up in the traditional Nepalese dress ready for a day of traditional Nepalese dancing to raise funds for the Home. We were tagging along so that we could chat with Westerns that happened across the festivities so that we could explain what we had been doing at the Home and try to encourage them to part with some of their money to the Home. What we didn't realise when we agreed to this arrangement was that we weren't going to be in any of the touristic areas and so there was to be essentially no Westerners. So we sat around all day feeling 'as useless as tits on a bull'!! Jungalee also decided to come along. She fitted beautifully with her flower necklace as today is 'Day of the dog'!!

We did however take some heart from the children. When asked were they having a good time they replied that it was always good to be in places outside of the Home. Who are we to complain. All we did was sit around and complain while they danced all day and collected funds. They were still going when we departed to go back to the Himalayan Encounters for dinner - and we were the ones complaining about being tired. Boy can we learn something from this group of kids!!

We have learned something else about ourselves this trip - Jan is a magnet for dogs and I'm a magnet for kids. Not only was Jan a hit with the dogs at HE and the CWH, a dog followed us for about 15 minutes down the street another day this week! As for me? While we were out for the day with the kids - as soon as I sat down anywhere I was immediately surrounded by kids who wanted to be seen sitting next to the 'White woman'. Later on I was just standing minding my own business when suddenly I had a random kid attached fast to my legs - I wasn't going anywhere for a few minutes! What's more there was no 'Give me chocolate', 'Give me a pen' - really just pure curiosity!! So first a baby on my lap in the bus and then a kid growing from out of my legs! Wat vreemd!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Fundraising Day 1Fundraising Day 1
Fundraising Day 1

In the background you can see the first group of kids the wanted to sit by me.


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb