And the top 3 answers are...


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Nagarkot
September 1st 2007
Published: September 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post


I asked Pradip if he knew any famous Americans. He knew George Bush and Bill Gates. I asked him where he knew Bill Gates from, he said from television. I asked if he knew any other famous Americans; he thought for a whole and said, "I know you." So the 3 most popular Americans ( in no particular order) are: George Bush, Bill Gates and Nicole :-) I didn't realize before how little information about the US comes here. Some people get the BBC channel in their home, and that is about the only source of US information.

There also is a strange phemonon (sorry, this blog doesn't have spell check) of Nepali's wearing shirts with Americans on them. You see ALOT of people here wearing Britney Spears shirts. You will also see various other music artists. I asked Yalamber about this, and he said that he wasn't sure where these shirts came from, but was certain these people were not wearing the shirts because they were fans. You will also see posters of Americans taped to windows of buses and hanging in remote restaurants. (There was a picture of Tom Cruise from Cocktail in the restaurants Sujata and I went to. I asked her if she knew who he was and she did not).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb