What to do in Kathmandu...


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
May 20th 2012
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Durbar SquareDurbar SquareDurbar Square

Watching the world go by...
Geo: 27.7029, 85.3182

I feel I've really come to know Kathmandu, I first came here in January and I have been back and forth ever since, extending my visa and generally making it up as I go along. I'm either off out trekking or rafting and back, or away visiting Braktapur, Thimi, Lamahi, Pokhara and back, even India for a month and back. Every time I return it feels like coming home, probably because I have made friends here who have supported me over the last few months.


I can manage my way through all the lanes from the Immigration office, right over to the other side of the city at Swayanbhunath (Monkey Temple) or up through Lazimpat, out to the Ring Road, down past Gongabu, into Mheipi, Durbar Square, Freak Street, Boudhanath and know the different shopping areas. It is a truly fascinating city, the roads are heaving with traffic but when you come off the ring road the roads are a mess. Huge pot holes, destroyed by the monsoon season, it's difficult enough riding through these streets never mind dealing with the debris on them, dodging cows and dogs and people alike, it really is chaos.


I've made a number of friends
here and I'm kinda in with the Celt community, and pretty much based around the Celtic Manang pub in Thamel, and staying with two Irish guys who have been great company. One is now away back home to Ireland and the other must be glad to eventually have his home back to himself once I finally left. He has been out here for a number of years and started an organization to help kids get off the streets and into a sembilance of normal life and education and the work he does is second to none, for details or to make a donation go to www.just-one.org I'm sure he would be more than delighted.


So although dirty and dusty and full of people offering everything from rickshaws ‘good price madam' or stalls/shops asking ‘come Didi have a look', I truly, strangely enough love Kathmandu. I love some of the Nepali sayings 'same, same but different' is my favorite, 'why like this?" or 'la la la' what does 'la' mean I asked, well just 'la'... I love the head wobble from side to side, it doesn't quite mean a yes or a no, just a sort of acknowledgment or sorts... 'la'.
I love waking up to the 'hiss' of the pressure cookers, their rice for their dhal bhat being prepared, I can't believe the amount of rice they can eat. If you ever get the chance to go and 'experience' the madness and yet friendliness of Kathmandu don't pass up the chance...it's amazing.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Durbar SquareDurbar Square
Durbar Square

Rickshaws


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb