Beautiful, peaceful place


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Pokhara
April 19th 2012
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 28.2636, 83.9724

From Bardia I head straight to Pokhara on the overnight bus, the bus is really crowded an sitting beside me is a man with his daughter on his knee and their bags… it's going to be a long 12 hours. I can't believe the amount of people they squeeze onto the bus, the isle is full of bags with people sitting on them and they can't get anything more on the roof, health and safety at it's best! I decide to come to Pokhara direct as my friend is here and I want to pick his brains about cycling before he heads home, although I get lots of good stuff I still don't know if it's going to be possible to join them.

I've been back and forth to Pokhara around six times since I've been in Nepal, a couple of those times was to start off trekking with both the Annapurna treks starting from here. I've had a few weekends and otherwise the odd week or so here. I keep coming back because it is so beautiful and peaceful, and I've still only seen a tiny bit of it, Lakeside, Damnside and not much else.

I've
still not found my way up to Sarangot and I decided against the para-gliding but maybe next time, I did manage up to the World Peace Pagoda which is actually much much bigger than I was expecting. I was invited by friends over in their boat and climbed around an hour to reach it, it's a beautiful setting, a really lovely place. I spend time walking round the lake and generally trying to take it easy and this is definitely the place to do it.

I love the Bullet Base Camp, the Jazz Bar and the Busy Bee which I've frequented on a number of occasions, I won't go into my last ‘trip' to the Busy Bee though! I feel like I know loads of people here and even enjoy my first ever full body massage at the ‘Java' spa which is run by an Irish girl and I can highly recommend it, very professional and luxurious, it was a real treat.

Anyway I've a few things still to do here so I'll be back one day!



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Sunset Sunset
Sunset

I love this picture, it looks more like a painting


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb