Sport Hurts! - Go Hard Or Go Home!!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
May 17th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Orphanage GangThe Orphanage GangThe Orphanage Gang

A picture of everyone living at the orphanage in Ganganagar
Well, here I am back in Kathmandu - a bit earlier than expected - but being the accident prone person I am, I have managed to attain a sporting injury!!.

As they say - sport hurts - and it did for me!! I was playing football with some of the kids at the orphanage, when doing one of my immaculately choreographed Cruyeff turns I heard my right calf muscle make an odd crunching noise , swiftly followed by a shooting pain down my leg. Looks like I may have torn my calf muscle!!

Anyway the injury has made me a bit useless ( well more than I was already!) at the orphanage, so I decided that it was better to make a return to relative civilisation, and out of the constant sauna heat.

The kids were great when I left, they all went and picked flowers for me ( well stole them from the garden of property next door - whose owner didn't seem to chuffed!)

Since arriving back here in Kathmandu, I have decided that although my leg is ok to walk on( albeit a bit sore) it wasn't going to be a good idea to
Off they march to schoolOff they march to schoolOff they march to school

Off they go in single file - don't see that in yhe UK today do you !
go trekking, so rather than staying in Nepal I am going to fly back to Blighty for a short while next week, and then fly straight onto South America.

I am off on a flight round the Himalayas tomorrow, so hopefully I will be able to shoot a few good snaps( or fall out the plane knowing my luck)

Anyway, the one bit of good news is that being back in civilisation means I can see the mighty Pompey hopefully win the FA Cup today - Play Up Pompey!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

View From The Dodgy Bus View From The Dodgy Bus
View From The Dodgy Bus

View from the dodgy bus whilst travelling over the mountains between Chitwan and Kathmandu
The Buddhist Temple In HathmanduThe Buddhist Temple In Hathmandu
The Buddhist Temple In Hathmandu

Inside the Buddhist Temple In Kathmandu, where I was given a blessing by a Bhuddist Monk


17th May 2008

Limping back to Blighty!
Lovely to see photoes of you with the children from the Ganganagar Orphanage, what a shame that you were unable to complete your stay. Lets hope a short break back home will put you right and you will soon be able to complete your adventures. Love Mum
19th May 2008

Buddha
Hey, Trev, is that you in tha photo of the Buddhist Temple? No wonder the Monk gave you a blessing! Cool haircut dude!
9th June 2008

wow
how wonderfull to have a blessing , and to see the beautifull buddhist temple, i envey you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!enjoy and keep posting pics. jane chris and sara

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb