A Map Back to Civilisation Anyone?


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
May 13th 2008
Published: May 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi y'all,

Sorry It's been all quiet on the Eastern Front, but I 've been holed up in a remote village in the middle of the middle of nowhere for the last few days. Now I've managed to find an internet cafe in the nearest town ( 2hr local bus ride - which is 200 people on and in a bus designed for about 50 people and 30 min walk!!) that has machines powered by hamsters!!! So that now I have pictures to post ( with my NEW digital camera) I cant do it!
Anyway I have been at an orphanage in the south of Nepal ,and will be there until the 22nd May. I have been doing various things such as planting trees badly, doing washing - badly, and being ill - not too badly!
The children are lovely, and don't really need any supervision - which is good for me! ( if you want to see the orphanage you can read details on the www.infonepal.org for the happy home orphanage at Ganganagar)
The biggest thing for me however is the heat - I seem to be spending my entire waking life drinking water, and more water. The only saving grace is that we have foubd a bar near the river that is about 15 mins walk away!!

Anyway, I will have more of a complete update when I can access a post Charles Babbage PC !!


Advertisement



13th May 2008

Hamsters
Wait till you get to Peru You will be eating Hamsters there, a very fine starter to a meal so I`ve heard! (Yum, Yum!). Keep going, the wild life can only get better. Now lets see, that`s 1 Wild Chicken, an Elephant, a Rhino and some Hamsters "Hmm" very interesting. How about a Bengal Tiger, very rare I`m told. Good Luck. Keep drinking plenty (Water) Love Mum X
15th May 2008

The "cosy" bus rides you are experiencing must be playing havoc with the old hemmies! And then all that walking. And only water to drink .... But I checked that web site on Ganganagar Trev and it says you all congregate at weekends to have a drink and eat western fodder. Can't be that bad then. How is the local brew - or are you not that brave????? Keep up the good work.
16th May 2008

Everest next port of call then Trev
Sounds like you having an adventure. We could do with a few of those hamsters over here at the moment. 200 people on a bus designed for 50, sounds like going to paultons park

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb