Back to Reality ( Of sorts)


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
May 7th 2008
Published: May 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I made it back to Kathmandu in one piece ( well minus the pieces that the 40 odd mosquitos have had out of me!). The journey back across the mountains was again fun - this time with the added bonus of a heavy downpour of rain when we reached the top , and were just about descend over the other side. The rain may seem insignificant normally, but when you are in the hands of a manic Nepali coach driver who thinks he is Michael Schumacher when he is overtaking lorries whilst going round hairpin bends that fall away into thousands of feet of nothingness, then you do tend to feel a bit less than comfortable.

Anyway, the cultural evening in Chitwan was quite entertaining, it was a bunch of Nepalis doing about a dozen dances that all looked very similar. The only differences seemed to be whether they banged drums, played tambourine type things or twirled around various offensive weapons!

Back in Kathmandu now, and had my first language class yesterday - Oh boy am I going to struggle to communicate in anything other than international sign language of the Brit abroad!! I learn't about 50 words and a dozen phrases in the space of 3 hours and have fogotten them within the space of 5 minutes!

It is looking like I will be going back to the Chitwan area for my placement, which is likely to be in an orphanage- where I will be helping them build some fences/walls and planting some trees ( good job really as I think teaching to the kids could have been a bit problematic based on todays language lesson!)

Have been hanging around with a group of volunteers who arrived today , They are going to Everest Base camp ,as their first port of call ( I Don't think I'm quite got the fitness levels for that quite yet!)
Spending some time in the Thamel district - a bit touristy , but a nice distraction from the mess elsewhere in the city.

Anyway, off for a bit of sightseeing now - and to see if I can haggle for a camara - at the moment I've got them down to 120 quid for a camera that would cost me 60 in the UK - good start!!


Advertisement



7th May 2008

Testing Comms
How can you complain about the bus driver - were you never a passenger in your Dad's car?????? Yes, if you have FOGOTTEN your first 50 words of Nepali (or whatever it is they utter in them parts) already, there's not much hope for you out in the sticks. Your Mum always said she had difficulty communicating with you - must have been the grunts emanating from under your duvet at wakey-wakey time! I always found communications easier after about 10 pints of the local brew - a great leveller, 'cos everybody speaks gibberish from thereon. Keep it comin' ......
8th May 2008

Mounts Washing & Ironing!
You might be having fun going up mountains on a bus Trev but not as much fun as I`m having climbing the mountain of washing you left behind, I havn`t reached the peak yet. that comes when I`ve climbed mount ironing basket. Have fun, stay safe Love Mum

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb