From Langtang to Kathmandu: my "local bus" experience


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
November 1st 2005
Published: November 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Life is not easy in NepalLife is not easy in NepalLife is not easy in Nepal

A porter carrying something that looks bigger than him
The last day of the trek was mostly uneventful - that's the problem of going back the same way after reaching the highlights. At least it was mostly walking downhill so I walked listening to my music, enjoying the colors and freshness of the forest around me.
When we got back to Syabrubensi there was one important mission: arrange a jeep back to Kathmandu. I was willing to pay a lot for that, but unfortunately it wasn't a question of money. Simply, there was no jeep. And that's how, early this morning, the spoiled princess found herself in a local bus to Kathmandu. It took almost twice the time of a jeep. It was bumpy. There were numerous military checkpoints where the Nepalis had to hop off, walk a bit, then hop on again. The room for the legs wasn't amazing, to say the least. Some parts were so dusty that I felt sand in my mouth. And yet, I survived it... I could even appreciate the views around me. Thanks to 2 "magic mushrooms" called Travamin that took care of my health, and thanks to my "volunteering guide" Rajku that took care of my mental health, I arrived safely (with some bruises on my knees) to tell you about it.
It is customary in Nepal to fantasize during the trek about the "after-steak". That's what we did after the ABC trek - went for a huge steak. However I fantasized about a big fresh salad, and I'm writing this post in my favorite Italian place here, over a fresh and tasty insalata primavera. Viva l'Italia!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



6th November 2005

so u r also princess now?
hi... i was named princess to... that because we r two mits ;) but u r very brave mitz...
7th November 2005

Mitz
If I'm a princess of course you are too, it comes in our blood... I miss you lots!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb