A first try!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
October 29th 2006
Published: October 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! A first try to put a text in our blog, hopefully not with a lot of mistakes, my English isn’t the best, but I try… At this moment I (Leen) am in Nepal (a last day before Kalu is coming) enjoying the sun, and breakfast! I arrived 3 weeks ago, together with my cousin Sam, and lots of you already got mails about my ‘adventures’ here!
Two years ago I helped to set up an orphanage in Kathmandu, so this time I’m trying to work some more over there! Not easy, a whole different job than last time! And it all changed a lot! In 2004 we had to give the kids their basic needs, like food, a bed, healthcare, … now the orphanage is actually ‘running’, the kids have everything they need, even some extra’s! They are much more grown-up, and independent, and they are having a normal life. No sad times, no broken children or children in a shock, but happy boys and girls who are working a lot for school! But of course some of them are getting their puberty years and that is asking for some extra attention! Our children have got a hard life, and emotional you can notice this! So while working there, we also try to help them trough these feelings!
I'm also trying to get some better results in school for some of our kids, it is just a start, but I hope I can make a difference!
I went to visit Kalu’s family twice this month, a whole different experience as 2 years ago, because I was there the first time without my man, and because I feel much more relaxed than 2 years ago! And I had a very good time there! My Nepali is much better, so there is a way to communicate with the family, compared with 2004! I know better what to do, what to say, and I can feel they like me and they feel I’m learning! And it is great! His mother (I will call her aamaa -mother- from now on) is giving me a lot of attention, is very interested and is spoiling me a bit! Aamaa is a special woman, very different than our moms, a bit traditional nepali, with a lot of other habits! The first time with her was all a bit scary for me, but now I feel relaxed with the whole family, knowing the ‘strange’ things are all meant to be good, to care! They all show a lot of respect for me, and they love it when I speak Nepali!
This week I was there for Tihar, the most beautiful festival ever! With that we also want to wish all our friends a happy Depawali !!

Sam (my cousin) and I went on a beautiful, but difficult trekking to Gosaikunda! I try to put the trekking story also in this blog!

And like most people know by now, Kalu and I are planning to get married this winter! A ‘traditional’ Nepali wedding in his village, with his whole family, and some of my family! My parents, sister and brother in law are coming in December! In spring we will do another wedding in Belgium, we hope to have a lot of our friends there with us!
We met 4 years ago, here in Nepal, and after traveling a lot around we decided our life together is going great, and we gone build a future together! Where that will be we don’t know yet, but for sure together!

And with this I just started our blog, for everyone who wants to follow our stories here! The plan is also to put some pictures on it, and we will try to write in English, but sometimes it will be Flemish too! (For our writing mistakes, don’t hesitate to send a mail!) Hope you enjoy it; we try to make the best of it!!! Leen and Kalu!


Advertisement



1st November 2006

a good start for your blog...!
Leen, Kalu, You've made a good start making your own blog. The picture you joined in, is very nice! Maybe you can add the names of Kalu's brothers to this picture... and at another occasion, tell us the names of Kalu's sisters too (and maybe a picture of them). We're looking forward to read your further stories! Destelbergen, 2006 1st of November
1st November 2006

Ben ik de eerste?
Alles hier netjes en verzorgt binnengekomen. Jouw engels is goed leesbaar tot bijna perfekt. Webside is mooi samengesteld en duidelijk. Waar een pc toch allemaal goed voor is he. Stel het daar goed, doe ze daar allemaal de groeten en tot nog eens. ps: de wereld is te mooi om dat allemaal achterwege te laten he. Groetjes Paul (alias MacLivinus)

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb