10 Days Into Nepal and I'm Sick....


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
June 20th 2013
Published: July 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Not the best of days that's for sure. It started off fine, I met up with the other volunteers for breakfast and then we went to the hospital as usual. Unfortunately, my stomach was on the rocks and I didn't realize just how much until just before lunch. We were going to get started on the murals in the deluxe cabin. I started to not feel too well, so I went with Erik to the cabin where he started to do the rough sketches of the murals on the wall. I just laid down on the bench and watched his artistic genius. I kept feeling more and more sick unfortunately and got sick in the washroom.

It took me awhile before I had the courage to take the bumpy/crazy cab ride back to Thamel. It was a hot and dusty day so that made waiting for the taxi even worse (however despite how sick I was, I still turned down one taxi because he was going to overcharge me (wanted more than 200 rupees for the ride) and I refuse!).

Fortunately I got home without another 'event'. I spent the rest of the day in bed watching movies on my iPad. This is the first time I really felt just how bad those Nepali beds are. Lying in bed for an extended period of time was just painful on my joints and I was in more pain from that than my actual stomach by the evening. Unfortunately I wasn't well enough to get up so I had to survive the bed until morning. I'm not really sure what got me sick since I'm always very careful with not using their water or any unpeeled vegetables. I guess these things just happen, but now I am somewhat skeptical of my UV water filter that I've been using so now I'm avoiding it for a bit. I was able to shuffle down to the hotel restaurant in the evening to get them to bring me up sone soup so I could have something to eat before I went to bed. As they say in nepal, what to do (ke gar ne)?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb